Finn Lysyshyn - Coolest Kid In Town


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Saskatoon
May 1st 2009
Published: February 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=MSvEqK4H4Tg]During a summer about eight years ago my university flatmates all went home to their respective parents' places leaving me to fend for myself. In order to cover rent I placed an ad in the local paper and got a call from a Canadian guy Kevin who was doing some travelling. A few days later he moved in and stayed for the summer. We spent most days drinking, goofing off and stealing Christmas trees.

When he left I promised I'd try and make it over to see him. Eight years later I arrived at his home town of Saskatoon after a nine hour greyhound bus ride from Calgary. I have to mention that I was a little bit scared before the ride for two reasons. Firstly because of the case in Manitoba where a guy on a greyhound got hacked to bits by a nut-job. Secondly, I had the flu and was coughing lots. Normally this would be alright, but the Swine Flu pandemic had just started so everyone was on edge. I sat between a huddle of old ladies in the hope they weren't packing machetes.

Kevin met me at the bus station and we drove back to his place where I met his girlfriend Keely and their son Finn who was 6 months old and a cool little dude.

Saskatoon, known as the bridge city is in Saskatchewan, the province next to Alberta. It is known as a prairie province so is flat, flat, flat. Saskatoon has a population of around two hundred thousand. Kevin and I went for a drive around shortly after I arrived. The city has a laid back feeling, it doesn't have a big commercial core, it is more industrial. Kevin’s place is in a nice area just a short stroll from Broadway which is lined with bars, coffee houses and boutique stores.

The weather was fantastic for the few days I was in town so we spent plenty of time sitting on the deck hanging out with young Finn, reminiscing and having a few beers.

I got to meet Kevin's brother and his family, and Kevin's sister while I was in town so that was great seeing as Kevin had met all my family and spent a Christmas with us.

After a feed of tasty treats - ribs and chicken. Kevin and I headed down to Broadway and got on the beers. We caught up with a couple of his buddies and mocked the reggae band playing. It had over ten members, and was a mixture of race and age. I don't think any of them would be mates outside of the band. Especially with the trombone player, he was a complete fanny.

Like many years ago once we stumbled in Kevin cooked us up a mean feed and we watched funny TV shows into the small hours like Flight of the Conchords. Kevin does a mean Murray impersonation. We also watched a new show called East Bound and Down. If you like Will Ferrell then check it out.

The following morning we checked out a garage sale. But it wasn't just one, a whole neighbourhood had organised a joint sale, so we strolled around the area sifting through the sh*t to try and find a few sh*t covered gems. I managed to get some novels for Nic and I to read through South America. Had I more room in my pack I would have definitely bought a board game called Hannibal. Wonder whether you have to wear a straitjacket or eat anyone’s face off?

That night once again Kevin, who excels in the kitchen, made us a brilliant feed of steak which we'd purchased from an authentic store on Broadway. Years ago we would have gone out two nights in a row but nowadays with the arthritis setting in it’s a different story. So we spent the night chilling out and cracking up at Finn in his jumping thinga-ma-jigee. (Check out the video)

Kevin and Keely talked of making a trip to NZ so hopefully in another 8 years time (or less) Ill be writing another blog about Hannibal, Swine Flu and Kevin’s cooking.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb