Warning: Storm Ahead! // Third Stop Saskatchewan (Regina)


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Regina
June 9th 2016
Published: June 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday I left for Saskatchewan to head to Regina. The prairies are very flat but very cute, not a boring drive like one would think! I would however recommend bringing some good music or podcasts along because it is a long ways away if you have no stops planned in between (from Winnipeg to Regina I stopped at Spruce Woods Provincial Park to see the Spirit Sands, a good way to divide up the drive). So I had heard that storms in the prairies are very beautiful because of the flat lands you can see thunder and lightning from miles away. Of course when I saw a dark dark cloud ahead on the highway I thought, this should be cool. Well it wasn’t. As I drove along the highway I had no choice but to enter the deep dark cloud to the point where it went from being “put-your-sunglass-on-sunny” to “put-your-high-beams-on-dark”. I could not see two feet ahead of me, I had to drive at 10 miles per hour. When I noticed cars stopped on the side streets I tried to pull over as well but it was to wet and slippery. The wind was blowing the rain, some leaves, and my car that for a split second I thought I was in an infamous prairies tornado, knowing my luck, it was very likely. Three minutes later I was out of this storm and it was bright and sunny, all the road signs were different and my clock automatically reset for an hour back, I had entered Saskatchewan. According to the locals these random five minute awful storms are how it rains in the prairies and your supposed to pull over before you enter the deep dark clouds.



In Regina I visited the Saskatchewan legislative building which is on very beautiful grounds right next to Wascana lake and Wascana park across the lake, a perfect place for a picnic, bike ride, or stroll through the city. It is the biggest legislative building in Canada because Premier Walter Scott who designed it thought that Regina’s population would grow by several million and be Canada’s most populous city (lol). That night I headed to my second couch surfer Hardwood, who is one of the nicest people I have every met, he started travelling when he retired and had a wealth of knowledge about anything and everything, very interesting guy! We went with some other locals to The Capitol, a pub that some bands were playing at. I had some local beer called Rebellion, local beer in the prairies is a big thing and very good, so is their bread, the place was slightly pricy but a good venue to experience some Regina nightlife. In the morning I went to the Royal Saskatchewan Museum which is in Wascana park. This is one of the best natural science museums that I have ever been to and would tell any tourist to head there especially since it is free admission. They have a whole gallery devoted to First Nations history, there was a temporary snake exhibit, and the upstairs has a very interactive displays of all of Canada’s various ecotones and the wildlife in each. After I left the museum I stopped for lunch at a very delicious and cheap vegetarian cafe called the Green Spot and headed on my way to Alberta.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb