Host family drama/ first class!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
July 1st 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Slop!The Slop!The Slop!

This is the plate of food that my temporary host mom gave me to eat! I couldn't force myself to do so.
Two days ago I was supposed to be picked up from the hostel by my host mom, but she never showed up. I guess she thought I was coming next week or something- either way this program is so disorganized. So I ended up having to go to this other lady's house for this week and it really sucks. The women is so nice and knows enough English that I can survive, but only talks to me in French unless I really need help. The food here is so bad tho that I can't eat it. My temporary host mom is the manager of a cafeteria in an old folks home and I swear that's the kinda shit she is trying to feed me. I told her I was a vegetarian and she said "we eat meat in this house". Today she set out dinner for me and it was like instant mashed potatoes and like weird beef shit. I didn't eat it at all so I think she's getting mad at me. I ate microwaveable rice, baby carrots, and baba that I bought at the super market earlier. I feel bad to be rude- but I just refuse to
Toronto Island Park!Toronto Island Park!Toronto Island Park!

Leaning over the ferry boat on the way to the nude beach.
put that shit in my body.
Anyways... my first day of class was today, but it is different this week b/c it's just with the OU kids and it's taught by our director and is mostly in English. We learned a lot about the history of Quebec and of Canada (which by the way has only 30m citizens- which I found baffling!). There is a big food court thing in the student center (which is where I have class) and it has a really good salad bar, which I am excited about. Oh and there is also a PUB in the student center!!
Last night I went out with Ben (who is the only other young student in our program- the 3rd person is like 50something and not too much fun). We explored the street we live on which is very residential but there are two pretty nice bars within like 15walk. The first one we went to was Le Cactus and was like a restaurant bar. I got a wrap and some fries (b/c I didn't eat host mom's slop last night either) and it was pretty good. The bar tender was wicked nice and spoke to
Couchsurfing in Montreal!Couchsurfing in Montreal!Couchsurfing in Montreal!

A really great family I stayed with in Montreal the night after Cory left.
us in English some (said he needed to practice his English anyway). He directed us to go down the street a bit farther to a place called Pub X (which has 3,50$ shooters of Jose- extremely cheap for Canada) and 13$ pitchers. It also had 2 foosball table, 2 pool tables, and 2 dart boards, a bunch of inside seating, a stage, and a terrace. It was sweet. We placed a bunch of pool. Ben is nice, but he's kind of a forced friend. He's a bit of a polo wearing, golf playing yuppie, but HE SPEAKS ENGLISH!! I'm pretty sure we will never hang out even once when we are back in Athens, but for now a friend is a friend and English is a plus.
Well do to the last night bar excursion and the earlier morning class I am tard and am going to lay down. I will write again soon. Miss and Love everyone.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Corn fields in Canada!Corn fields in Canada!
Corn fields in Canada!

Taken from the train window.
Sign for the Nude Beach!Sign for the Nude Beach!
Sign for the Nude Beach!

I'll keep the pics from the nude beach offline!
Simon look-a-like!Simon look-a-like!
Simon look-a-like!

This is Julien who I couchsurfed with in Montreal, but doesn't he look exactly like Simon.
We rented a tandem bike!We rented a tandem bike!
We rented a tandem bike!

Riding around Toronto Island Park on a tandem bike with Cory, and no we didn't plan to wear yellow together it just happened.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb