Cruisin' the St. Lawrence


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
September 23rd 2005
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Route of the MV Louis-Jolliet


I woke up to more rain this morning, so I have to admit I just rolled over and went back to sleep. An hour later, the sun was shining. After a quick stroll along Terrasse Dufferin, I set out for Petit-Champlain and Place Royale, below the walls and the cliffs of Cap Diamant.

Instead of taking the Escalier Casse-Cou (the break-neck stairway) down into Petit-Champlain, I opted to walk down the road. As I rounded a corner, I found myself walking by an incredible mural on the side of the building. Just past the mural, the street opened up into Place Royale.

Place Royale is at the same site as Samuel de Champlain's original settlement (c1608). This square is lined with bleached stone buildings (I believe their colour is related to a limestone paste used to protect the stones) with colourful trim on the windows, doors and roofs. On one side of the square is Eglise Notre-Dame-des Victoires, the oldest church in Canada. It dates from 1688. Beyond Place Royale are the streets of Petit-Champlain, also lined with old stone houses, but these ones are all filled with shops and restaurants.

It's all very beautiful and charming here, but by 11:30 I was quite hungry. After a bit of searching, I found a place where I could get a sandwich to go, because it was too sunny and warm to waste any time indoors. I had hoped to find a bakery and a cheese shop, but the ham and cheese croissant from "Le Petit Cochon Dingue" (the small crazy pig) was very good. I enjoyed it from a square between Place Royale and the River.

After my little picnic, I had a soft ice cream cone with a maple butter swirl before boarding the MV Louis-Joliet for a cruise down the St. Lawrence. We passed the western tip of Île d'Orléans and under the shadow of the bridge connecting the island to the north shore. The views of Montmorency Falls were fantastic!

After the cruise, and a bit more wandering, I went back to my hotel for a quiet evening in. I love the satisfied feeling at the end of a good day exploring!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Petit-Champlain...Petit-Champlain...
Petit-Champlain...

...from the Dufferin Terrace
Montmorency FallsMontmorency Falls
Montmorency Falls

At 83m, they are higher than Niagara Falls!
Fresque des QuébecoisFresque des Québecois
Fresque des Québecois

The trompe l'oeil mural just outside Place Royale. The people in the windows are all part of Quebec's history.
Petit-ChamplainPetit-Champlain
Petit-Champlain

In the background is the track for the Funiculaire, which takes passengers between Basse-Ville and Haute-Ville.
Fresque du Petit-ChamplainFresque du Petit-Champlain
Fresque du Petit-Champlain

Another amazing mural!
Le Petit Cochon DingueLe Petit Cochon Dingue
Le Petit Cochon Dingue

a.k.a. the small crazy pig
Québec City from the riverQuébec City from the river
Québec City from the river

The highest point in Québec City is 97.5m (320feet) above the river.


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb