Poutine paradise...?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal » Old Montréal
September 28th 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Quebec City and Montreal


Yes Poutine was eaten and arteries were hardened. I forgot everything people told me about THE place to eat poutine so think i may have missed the best version of this dish... when you think about it the chips and gravy is not a strange concept to us Aussies its the cheese curds that throw me.

I couldnt get over how 'french' the province of Quebec really is and it kind of makes more sense of the whole French separatist thing here in Canada. But is is beautiful So much like being in Paris itself. Old buildings, cobblestone streets, street cafes and wonderful bakeries. Quebec city is an older city compared to Montreal and I think i liked Montreal's mix of old and new more.
I met a friend from the salty bear tour, Tracy, in Quebec City so it was fun to do all the museums with her and there were a lot to do! By the end of my time in Montreal I had given up on my shoes that were absolutely soaked from all the walking in the rain but it did give me an excuse to go shopping for some boots.

My last day in Montreal was spent watching the sun set over the city and eating the previously mentioned poutine, just enjoying the light on the autumn leaves. Then it was onto another Greyhound bus (!) and into another province to Ottawa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Quebec CityQuebec City
Quebec City

That's the train station(!) behind the fountain
Quebec CityQuebec City
Quebec City

Looking up to the Chateau Fairmont


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb