Screech'n Newfies


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Newfoundland & Labrador » St John's
September 23rd 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I Love Newfoundland



Its like a big Irish fishing village with multi coloured timber houses and a harbour and old pubs and the accent is fantastic and Steph lives there! (Hi Steph 😊

Got screeched in. Old sailing/drinking tradition which involves
- the bar tender ringing a bell so everyone knows someone is about to get screeched in
- taking a shot of screech (tounge numbing rum)
- saying an un-sayable Newfie tounge twister (no good when tounge has decided to quit on you) and
- kissing a Cod. There was no cod around so I had to kiss a Puffin birds bum (Puffins are THE bird in NwFld)
All while wearing a davey crocket style hat.
Then you get a certificate which I am going to hang proudly in my office one day when I grow up...

I got to have a traditional 'Jigs Dinner' (Steph's roomie is from Newfld and we went out to her cottage to see her Dad for Sunday dinner)
It involved a lot of traditional foods but what you should all know is --- I ate MOOSE! That's right - I ate one before I have even seen one and it was delicious!

Tues 6am left NewFound Land then at 12pm left Nova Scotia then by 5pm I was in New Brunswick.
Three provinces in one day - be proud people!
I spent a total of 2 days in New Brunswick. I think the best thing was driving through it and looking at all the fall trees changing colour. Then it was onto another bus and into Quebec.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Angry Moose!Angry Moose!
Angry Moose!

the sign outside St John's
Lighthouse NameLighthouse Name
Lighthouse Name

View from Signal Hill
Jig's DinnerJig's Dinner
Jig's Dinner

the moose is at the back
Sea and Sky Sea and Sky
Sea and Sky

in St Mary's, NewFoundland
Its all about the PuffinIts all about the Puffin
Its all about the Puffin

My memento of St John's


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb