Merry in the Maritimes


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
September 17th 2006
Published: November 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Im going to cheat a little here and give you a very quick run down of my maritime adventures...

After NY I headed back to Toronto for a night and then it was a quick flight into Halifax. A pretty little harbour city with a lot of hills. I guess it was a bit of a shock to the system after the sights and sounds of TO and NY but it was a nice change of pace none the less.

I made a spur of the moment decision to do a tour of Nova Scotia, Capre Breton Island and Prince Edward Island and it was one of the best things I decided to do out there! The Salty Bear tour was brilliant - such a great way to see the area without having to hire a car myself. I set out with a fantastic group of girls and had many exciting adventures including whale watching on Capre Breton Isl, kyaking in Baddeck, Nova Scotia and some 'extreme' mountain biking on PEI which involved my going extreme over the handle bars and coming out with a few decent sized bruises. It was such a beautiful part of the country and it was so nice to be by the ocean and not just some huge ocean-wannabe lake.
I even went swimming out there in the freezing waters with another Aussie girl - we were the only ones crazy enough and both of us were missing the beaches of home so we had to give it a go.
The tour was only 4 days but felt like so much longer and it was sad to say goodbye to the girls at the end but I have made some good friends to visit someday when I get to Germany and the UK.

After my maritime adventure it was back to Halifax for a few goodbye drinks downtown and a 5am flight the next day to St John's Newfoundland - fun fun!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

We love you LighthouseWe love you Lighthouse
We love you Lighthouse

Sarah and I share the love...
Sea MooseSea Moose
Sea Moose

at Confederation Bridge
Cape Breton IslandCape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island

The Coast line of the Cabot Trail
Salty Bears...Salty Bears...
Salty Bears...

the gorgeous girls


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb