... in search of North Cape


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

June 4, Friday… in search of North Cape, a perfect day except for the fact that the sun did not shine.

The MacAusland Woollen Mill is a short distance north east of the campground and it was the first destination of the day. There were no cars in the parking lot as there had been a few days ago. Lights were seen inside the building. Peaking in any window that was low enough for me to reach I saw no workers.

Because there was no number beside the notice in the Coastal Drive booklet I dialled the tourism office. The man that answered was having a day off. He was nearby so he came to the parking lot. Seems the place did not open on weekends. The tourism guy was very kind to have interrupted his day with his two boys who while he spoke with me made themselves busy trying to kill the attacking mosquitoes. Not being open, the place lost out on at least a $100 transaction because it is not hard to find wool for that amount.

Drove to Tignish on the main highway, Number 2, and then turned left on the map in an
Discarded Weaving MachinesDiscarded Weaving MachinesDiscarded Weaving Machines

There was quite a bit of steel litter at the back of the not so imposing building that housed the woolmill. When I looked into a window I did see some hanging blankets in the process of being woven.
effort to find my way to North Cape … not to be confused with Nordkapp which is the furthest point north in Europe and was visited when I was in Norway.

Without trying hard I found myself in Skinner’s Pond, the childhood home of Stompin’ Tom Connors, the same man that has had a bronze statue erected in front of the Sudbury Hockey Arena.

By accident I found a walkway leading to the beach over dunes, the grass of which was not to be disturbed.

Coming down the stairs to reach the beach I noticed a couple walking to my right. I headed left. Scanning the beach, I found three pieces of White Sea glass … took a lot of interesting shots … found shells with holes and picked up pieces of rock that had veins of quartz running thru.

This is what I came to the Maritimes for: the long endless beach, the rush of waves, the search for rocks, shells and other treasures strewn upon the red sand. I was feeling happy and walked to the end as far as the shore reached before encountering a barrier of huge rock boulders.

Returning I
The House that Wool BuiltThe House that Wool BuiltThe House that Wool Built

This grand house stands next to the Mill ... must be part of the whole place.
did come within speaking distance with the afore mentioned couple.

“Have you found anything interesting? I asked.

“Oh yes, my pockets are full of sea glass”, she replied.

And sure enough she showed me big pieces, mauve glass, a piece of blue and quite a few green ones. She put my three wee pieces to shame. The man said he had left a lot behind.

I walked where they had been, found five of his leftovers but not find any patterned ceramic. The woman had found three lovely pieces with blue flowers, a piece of glazed terra cotta and a white piece with a pink flower motive. The pieces were only the size of the top of one’s thumb but big enough to discern a definite pattern.

By the time I returned to the wan my collection consisted of two driftwood specimens, a pocket full of shells with holes ready to be made into necklaces and a variety of interestingly coloured weathered round rocks, some looking much like alabaster.

Two hours on the dune beach left me happy, satisfied and just a bit cold. The best surprise when I reached the wan was that
The Old SchoolhouseThe Old SchoolhouseThe Old Schoolhouse

Stompin'Tom apparently went to school here. Although speaking to locals he did not last long in the area and took off at age 13 with his guitar on his back.
the woman from the beach had left a handful of sea glass there, on the plastic rim, under my windshield. Now how kind was that. And I can only thank her here in print because I have no other way of finding her. WOW!

After my two hours on the beach the goal of North Cape was once again pursued.

It was a dull day and at North Cape it was windy. So windy in fact that huge white windmills were churning and creating alternative power.

The gift shop was open. They had a North Cape patch for sale at $7.99+tax. I commented on the hefty price and the sale girl said that because the patches had to be specially made a higher price had to be charged.

Upstairs the restaurant was open. From the menu a half dozen oysters (6), clam chowder, coffee and rhubarb strawberry pie with ice cream was ordered. Having enjoyed my $36 treat I went to explore the shore at this most northern point of P.E.I.

Out in the water was visible a short stretch of rock upon which sat many sea gulls and the ever obnoxious cormorants.

“North Cape is famous for its natural rock reef where the waters of the Gulf of St. Lawrence and the Northumberland Strait meet with magnificent results. At low tide you can stroll along the reef and enjoy the many seabirds and marine life. Be sure and visit the North Cape Interpretive Centre which houses a gift shop, marine aquarium, the interpretive centre and a fully licenced restaurant.
Read more at https://www.tourismpei.com/north-cape-coastal-region/north-cape#srKfL9FwJ21XYZ6d.99

“The longest rock reef in North America posed such a threat to navigation” that a light house had to be built. “Finally the lighthouse was built in 1865, at a cost of $5,198, making navigation much safer for marine traffic crossing the Gulf of St. Lawrence or entering the Northumberland Strait.” http://www.virtualmuseum.ca



After finding a few more shells and a whole empty claw of a lobster, departure from North Cape happened at 18.00.Since it was so late I whipped out and took the direct Highway 2 route to Mill River Resort and Campground. On the way north Route 12 proved to be extremely pretty much more so than Route 14. The houses were of a higher caliber and presented more picturesquely.



The manageress allowed me to shower at the swimming pool, even providing towels. It was pure joy. Having spent the day outside in the wind, except for the driving time and the hot water was therapy and cleanliness and massage all in one.



The only drawback about the campground was that the Wi-Fi was not operational. There is the promise of getting that in order. Things go into high gear once school lets out at the end of June.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Self-Serve VegetablesSelf-Serve Vegetables
Self-Serve Vegetables

... not yet! Such places werespotted along Route 12
North CapeNorth Cape
North Cape

This point is the most north westerly part of P.E.I.
The Rock Reef The Rock Reef
The Rock Reef

This formation goes far out into the water. Here it is only partially exposed.


7th June 2016

photos
that's funny that you say the cormorants are obnoxious when I think that it's the seagulls that are obnoxious. We stayed at a place in Perth where the woman had made a lovely art piece by gluing sea glass to a white board, simple but lovely. I make mobiles with holey shells but they do tend to smash up if it gets too windy Dennis just played the "Stompin' Tom", hockey song, video for me so now I know something about that. It must be 30 years since I had clam chowder. I would so love some :( and a real pie would be nice too I like the green of the "boulders" and the drill marks where they were quarried from their bed I also, love rocks, those rock formations, your "pebbles" photo... thanks again, for sharing your travels and these beautiful photos
7th June 2016

Great photos
Love the sea siren in stone, and all rock pics.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb