Mill River Campground and Resort


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Not Especially Pretty Not Especially Pretty Not Especially Pretty

Highway 12 much more interesting.
June 3, Thursday

Bloomfield P.E.I. ... south of Tignish

Took a walk in soggy grass along the cliff of Waterford Campground. Waited till almost eleven and then I escaped the place.

Highway 14 runs along the coast and I was heading towards West Cape and the Cedar Dunes Provincial Park.

My first stop was Pleasant View Road. Driving down the rutted red road a stop was able to be made. This was going to be my first walk along a shore in P.E.I. I was all excited hoping to find some flotsam treasure. Some rocks, a piece of a wooden lobster trap and some driftwood was all I could scavenge.

And so the day continued. I pulled into harbours and access roads to the waterline. In one place while I was walking along the bottom of these eroded cliffs I found a huge dump of crustacean shells. On closer inspection they seemed all to be cooked lobster. Amidst the shells were also vegetable debris from a kitchen compost pail … right there in a V of the cliff.

Having gotten over this immoral act I continued my search for picturesque, outstanding, photo contest possibilities and just plain nice subjects to shot.

Stopping often I finally came to West Point Harbour. Never did find the Dunes. Ate the rest of my liverwurst and baguette with mayo and pickles in a quiet spot beside two cabins that were summer rentals. No one was around. The view of the water was a joy. But still not what I had come to the Maritimes for. I want crashing waves, starfish, and sunshine.

Continuing on Highway 14, the Co-Op store in O’Leary was the end goal. Bread, lentils and more NFLD steak were on the to buy list. The hardest bread to be found were whole wheat pita pockets. Not yet being that desperate for bread, I decided to check out the local bakery. The shelves were empty but for a few rolls and an iced cake. Two women sitting at table drinking coffee said they do not make rye bread here … but … there is a Superstore in Summerside. And so the conversation started. These two were the bakers here in this shop and they were just making ready to go home. Nice hardworking women …but no rye bread.

Further down the road I came
West Point not West CapeWest Point not West CapeWest Point not West Cape

Never did find West Cape or Ceadar Dunes Provincial Park. Wastold later that it was a turn right at the West Point Harbour up the hill past the house. No sign anywhere!
upon ten mountains of logs covering a property. One man in a blue jean shirt beside a pick-up truck was loading split wood onto the back of the truck. If this was his job it would take him more than a hundred years to cut,split and load all those pine logs, no rounder than a salad plate. I do believe there are splitting machines in use.

I passed wind farms, a cemetery surrounded by barbed wire and an orderly piled up square of lobster traps surmounted by orange buoys, probably one for each trap?

The churches are all similar … steep tower …painted white … centre of the village … close to the roadand iveratibly next to a cementery.

By now it was time to get to Mill River Resort and Campground, read the rules, find site 13 near the washroom and shower, pull in close, set up the picnic table and begin cooking dinner.

The dinner was delish, the shower was lousy and the campground had one other RV close to my site.

Better not do anything on toward while the lights are on inside the wan … do not know how well one can see in at night.

I saw quite a few houses that seemed to be producing wooden lobster traps. New ones were piled high on lawns beside driveways. Have learned that the lobster fishermen make their own traps with wood that they buy ready cut. Once finished the traps have to be ‘cured’so that no water worms eat into the wood.

The furrows and mounds in many fields are being planted with potatoes. Many fields, in contrast, had finger high sprouts colouring the red earth with evenly thin green lines.

Many scenes made me stop, turn the wan around and get into position to shoot. That’s the reason for the 200km/da. at 80km/hr. rule. It’s easy to stop when something exciting comes into view.

It was not a particularly exciting day and the two bakers are the only people I spoke with. The route was also not particularly charming … run of the mill houses… scruffy lawns …junk yards … only one house that earned a WOW and a lot of unbelievable “OM Goodness what’s that?”, during the whole day.

It was a relief to get to the campground. Looked forward to a hot shower since I had not had one the day before.

Once again disappointment reared its ugly head.

The shower head emitted two fiercely strong jets of warm, not hot, water. If this jet hits ones eye said eye would be rolling on the floor!

And then the distance that these two jets travelled was so far that, me being short, had to move out of the shower stall just to be hit by this sad despicable spray.

OF COURSE a complaint was put in writing. When I went to the resort to access WiFi and I answered the manager truthfully about the lousy shower she said I could use the pool shower. Tanksbetogot.

Later I learned that the camping people all had a pass to use the pool. OH well … and I must remember to use my fifteen percent discount here at the restaurant.

Things are looking up. Tomorrow will be a Perfect Day! I know this because I am writing in the past and I have had two glasses of red wine …LOL….lol chuckle….LOL !


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Man Tackles Pine woodMan Tackles Pine wood
Man Tackles Pine wood

... spot the man near the pick up.
Shower houseShower house
Shower house

This time I asked for a toilet close to the site. Not much traffic in campground ... am almost alone in the use of this facility. Yeah!
P.E.I. WildlifeP.E.I. Wildlife
P.E.I. Wildlife

Also prevelant ....racoons, skunks, cyotes. And I have seen a snake.


6th June 2016

camps
at least you have grass in the campgrounds. Here, some have patches of grass kept alive with regular watering but many of them are dry dirt/gravel. We prefer to be on our own in the bush and find a track off the road, into some secluded spot. This means no showers for up to 5 days and take a shovel to dig your toilet. (I'll use a facial wipe as a pre-soaped wash cloth once every couple of days.) Thanks for sharing

Tot: 0.443s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb