Sept . 14th & 15th - Prince Edward Island


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Prince Edward Island
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Fishing ShantyThe Fishing ShantyThe Fishing Shanty

this was at the Anne Of Green Gables Village
After looking at Fundy Bay one last time we start for Prince Edward Island or P.E.I. as the locals call it. To get to this wonderful place you have to cross a longgggggg bridge one lane each way. now when I say long.....it's long about 8 miles long without any land below. at the highest point it's about 200ft tall. The Confederation Bridge is the longest continuous marine span bridge in the world over ice-covered waters (a bridge over troubled waters). It was just built in 1997, until then the only way to reach P.E.I. is by ferries, which don't function in icy waters so well. It's a toll bridge, but they don't charge you coming in....just leaving and plenty.

So once on P.E.I. we drove up to the Cavendish area and found a camp and just chilled for the rest of the night. This place is just so quaint you want to hug it.... Next morning we drove over to Anne of Green Gables Village (for those that don't read, Anne of Green Gables is a girl in some classic books written 100 yrs ago by Lucy Maud...short story). The village had the real schoolhouse that Lucy taught at, some village stores, artists showing how their crafts are made, an old church with live music. The best stop was the fishing shanty, where there was live preformers putting on a Ceilidh (Kay-lee). Playing fiddle, harmonica & acordian (I think). singing songs, telling tales and talking about the area and the history of PEI.

I even got to taste my first raw oyster.....ummm what did I think...well. First I was the last and everyone was watch the girl from Texas try her first Oyster (but I'm not really from Tx and I've had the cooked before). All I can say is it's slimy & salty & slimy and I could taste it for hours after even after eatting lunch, trying gum and then brushing my teeth........so I'd have to say it just didn't do it for me.

We drove along the coast of the P.E.I. National park stopping at beaches and Cliffs all the way. The Island's red sandstone cliffs are very crumbly and collapse easily from errosion. On one cliff over look we found a bird nesting site, we took pictures so we could identify them later. There where great shells all over the red sand beaches too. After staying at our camp two nights, we checked out Charlottetown, the Capital, before leaving the island for Nova Scotia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

the other side of the dunesthe other side of the dunes
the other side of the dunes

lookthere is a little stream that meets up with the ocean
well that's differentwell that's different
well that's different

the lights hear are not only different colors but different shapes too. Red is square, yellow is diamond and green is a circle.
So here I am on P.E.I.So here I am on P.E.I.
So here I am on P.E.I.

I got Ciara to take a picture of me too.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb