Ahh... Springtime!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
June 21st 2005
Published: October 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today, Spring has officially ended here in Canada. I love Spring and I am sure I am going to miss it. I enjoyed it so much I can't help but take pictures of the greenery here. Canada can truly boast of its clean air and clean surroundings whether it's in the busy streets of downtown Toronto or in the suburbs. On my first morning this Spring, I was amazed to see grass. No kidding! I remember that the first time I saw Toronto, I got a harsh impression of its cold temperature. I haven't seen flowers nor grass along sidewalks. It was the harsh Winter season that time. Now I have gained a better impression of this cold city. It has transformed from a white city to a clean and green city.

I like going to the office this season; not that I like to go to work (hee hee)... but because of the birds I see flying by my office window everyday! This Spring I prefer to walk from my hotel to work! Truly relaxing. Now I understand the difference between a Winter jacket and a Spring jacket. 😉 The average temperature is in the 9C to 14C range.
Centre IslandCentre IslandCentre Island

Rolling on the green grass of Centre Island; The CN Tower makes a dramatic background
I do not need gloves but the jackets I own from Manila were enough to keep me warm.

I like Canada because of its cultural diversity. Here, I was able to enjoy different cuisines, authentic ei!!! I got to try Iranian and Greek food. One time, my workmates and I got lost downtown and got hungry. They asked me to decide for them. Unfortunately for them 😉 I picked some resto that looked and smelled different to me. We ended up ordering Sheek Kebab. We each had a styrofoam of rice with broiled meat. Then I fell in love with TABBOULEH (parsley salad). It costed me 3 dollars more but I did not mind.


Seeing a High School Classmate in Toronto - April 30




The last time I saw Cath was at our high school graduation. Yup! That was err... nine long years ago. Together we enjoyed the Canadian Spring by simply going to the nearby Centennial Park and snapped pictures to our heart's content.


Scenic Caves at Collingwood - May 7




I think I expected too much in this trip to Collingwood. I thought it would be like going to
Downtown Cityscape from Centre IslandDowntown Cityscape from Centre IslandDowntown Cityscape from Centre Island

There's CN Tower and Air Canada Center among other buildings
some exotic and strange cave that would make us crawl on dirt. Unfortunately for me (but fortunately for my friends) , it was a breeze. We all loved the place anyway. I especially loved going THROUGH what they call The Fat Man's Misery. You should see why.


Toronto's Centre Island - May 15




We took a ferry from downtown Toronto. Just 6 loonies. And in just 6 minutes, we are at the Centre Island. Green it was! Lots of noisy seagulls to feed (yey -- though others are annoyed by doing this)... lost of ducks... yey!


Paramount Wonderland Theme Park - May 28




Paramount Wonderland was not as grand as Six Flags in the US but we sure had a lot of fun! My favorite ride is the eXtreme Skyflyer. We swung 50 meters above the ground!!! My full blog entry here


Journey Behind the Niagara Falls - June 4




It's always refreshing to meet an old pal somewhere else in the world. This time, I am meeting Billy, a college classmate. He's not based in Los Angeles but flew up here for a cousin's wedding. Luckily, I am here too!! So
A Barn HouseA Barn HouseA Barn House

I took this on our way to Collingwood where we went spelunking.
here we are with another friend Val, and for the first time for Val and me, we took the "Journey Behind The Falls". I think I still have a piece of my yellow poncho as souvenir. We saw the spot where they used to take a movie scene of Superman.


My Urban Adventure




One of my best advetures this season is commuting from suburb Mississauaga to downtown Toronto. I traveled from West to East. Full story here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

An old-fashioned wheelbarrowAn old-fashioned wheelbarrow
An old-fashioned wheelbarrow

They still use this, but just maybe in this Nature Park in Collingwood.
Maple LeafMaple Leaf
Maple Leaf

Canada's symbol
Extreme SkyflyerExtreme Skyflyer
Extreme Skyflyer

My favorite ride in Wonderland; We were hung 50 meters above the ground


Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb