Balsam Lake to Kincardine


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
July 31st 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Balsam Lake to Kincardine, ON


Odometer: 39813km

This was a hot, humid day and I was very uncomfortable any time I stopped. I took a few breaks to eat or drink coffee, not because I needed it, but because I needed the air conditioning their buildings offered.

My breakfast stop was in Orillia. I found this place sort of interesting. It is in a small valley with lots of old houses and some interesting railway routes through the town. I’m sure there is some interesting railway history here and I’ll have to look that up when I get home. I thought I would do some of my blog at the library, so wandered over for opening time at 9am and was surprised to find a line up at the door. I thought there must be a lot of people using the library in general, but, as the doors opened and the mad rush swept up to the second floor, I realized they were all trying to get on the limited Internet computers. Once I saw the line up for that I left. Honestly, it was like watching people waiting for the bus in Beijing China where the people look like they are attacking it
Kincardine LighthouseKincardine LighthouseKincardine Lighthouse

You can see from the trees grown around the lighthouse that it isn't a necessary navigation aide anymore.
to get in first as it pulled to a stop. No rules there or here, other than the rules of nature where the fastest, most aggressive wins.

There was some relief from the closed in corridors of trees that I rode through yesterday and most of today. The high hills from Flesherton to Walkerton permitted some overviews of the country. Along with that, more and more farms appeared as I headed west.

A little town called Stayner had some surprises. The shops there are all of a higher class variety than most towns in this area. I couldn't figure out why until I found out that they get a lot of trade from the people holidaying in Wasaga Beach just to the north. The owner of the chocolate shop said there were also lot of locals that kept him viable throughout the year. There must be some expensive homes nearby. Why the chocolate shop you might ask. I didn't want chocolates in this heat, but his shop was very well air conditioned, so a purchase of some of his homemade ice cream was just some barter to allow me to stand and cool off while I ate the cone.

I unwittingly tested the rules about speeding today. First of all, I am of the opinion that the posted speed limits in Ontario are ridiculous. On the divided four and six lane freeways the highest posted speed is 100kph. On most primary two lane highways it is 90kph and on other two lane highways it is 80kph. My routine is to chug along at the speed limit until some local passes me, and then tuck in behind him at whatever speed he or she is doing. It is a fact, the ‘shes’ were consistently the fastest drivers, especially on the smaller highways. I always tried to keep someone like this in front of me, sort of like a police radar buffer. Whenever I saw their brake lights come on, I slowed down to the speed limit. Today I was a bit dozy and found myself at the front of a line of cars. The posted limit was 80kph, but I was doing 100kph to keep the car behind me from being too close in the no passing zone. As we approached a group of buildings I saw, too late, a police car with the radar pointed right at me. I threw out a few swear words into my helmet and prepared to pay the price for speeding. Nothing happened as we all cruised by at 100kph. I was sure the police car would pull out and come after me, so I pulled off at the first convenient road and waited. Nothing. I finally got underway again, wondering what had just happened. I talked to people who live in Ontario and found out what the inferred rules seem to be. It sort of goes like this. At highway speeds the demerit points only start when you are 20kph over the limit or more. The police tend to not stop people when there is only a money penalty, but want to get the excessive speeders with demerits. Therefore, at 100kph I was safe. However, they noted, the police sometimes make use of the real speed limit. This is especially true of local police in towns where the fines go into the city coffers. I started paying attention to this theory and it is true. Everyone drives 20kph over the posted highway limits with a few brave souls going faster. I don’t think there is any speed you can drive in Ontario without someone passing. Quebec seemed to be the same.

I came to Kincardine in order to have a visit with Ken and Salina. Ken is a friend of mine from TransCanada Pipe and, previously, Nova. We worked together for several years. He has been transferred to Kincardine to work at the Bruce Power Plant. They treated me well with good food and good company. After supper we went for a walk along the waterfront to try and get some relief from the heat and humidity, but there was little. My goodness I would have a tough time living in this climate. It really does sap your energy.

Kincardine is another cosy looking town on the shores of Lake Huron. It’s namesake is Kincardine, Scotland. When I checked this out on the internet, I noticed that the tower of the Anglican Church was almost a carbon copy of the Kincardine Parish Church in Scotland. Also, Kincardine, Scotland, use to have a power plant nearby just as our Kincardine does today. Ken told me that the town is home to the largest pipe bands in Ontario. Every year they have a pipe band competition that brings pipers from all over the world. Now that would be something to see and hear. That is my kind of party.

Ken set me up with an incredible air mattress to sleep on that night, and, I must say, I awoke in the morning with a back that was in much less pain than when I went to bed. What a revelation. I’ll remember that little trick.

Odometer at the end of the day: 40091km


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb