Red Rock


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
August 8th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Red Rock FestivalRed Rock FestivalRed Rock Festival

Tom and a bug
Woke up with a light mist falling, so quickly took down the tent and walked Otis before setting out to the Red Rock Folk Festival. Found out a bear was around the campsite...and when I discovered I forgot my water bottles at the campsite (5 minutes away), I turned around to get them, only to find a tooth mark in the plastic bottle, i wonder?!!

I had a quick breakfast outside of Marathon, at Marino's, where they had the best home fries I've ever had a restaurant.

Drove to Red Rock, where the Red Rock Folk Festival was happening. I was able to connect with some friends, and 3 from Guelph....Mary (who was there with her daughter), Rolf, and Katherine, who was performing with Wendell. Also connected with Anne, Mark and Tom and Robin. I thought it was funny at one point Katherine told me she would be playing with Liam on Monday night, why don't I come down! (Katherine forgot where we were?).

After, a walk around the lake and village of Red Rock, I decided to hit the trails and thanks to Rodney Brown, who recommended Sleeping Giant Provincial Park. On the way into the Park
Red Rock FestivalRed Rock FestivalRed Rock Festival

The site or I should say, the view!
(35 km), saw over 8 deer along the road!

The campground is a favourite of families from Thunder Bay. Lots of kids, babies, and bikes in the dark. The rain held off, but my allergies didn't. Was really glad to have a day of not driving and do some serious hiking.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

CampingCamping
Camping

Otis just hanging.


12th August 2009

What a beautiful site for a music festival. Must have sounded wonderful. It's nice that you connected with people you know.
13th August 2009

OMG
Got Bear Spray?!?

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb