My arrival in Guelph


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
September 3rd 2004
Published: September 3rd 2004
Edit Blog Post

7.3 Lounge7.3 Lounge7.3 Lounge

This is my lounge in residence
Hey Guys, sorry its taken me so long to update this thing but im a busy wifie here you know. Anyway i'm gonna try and get up to the present day ASAP.
I arrived in Guelph on the 3rd of Sept and i was panicking. All alone at last with no idea of where i was going. Anyway i finally arrived at my residence which is a massive (tower) and got moved into my room. There were few other people here cause the Canadians had to wait til Sunday to move in. So i went wandering around my 12 people flat and found some crazy Aussies. Bianca and Eban, within two hours of my arrival they'd dragged (i say that loosely)me to the pub where many other international students were. Met a hundred people that night.
The next day we decided to go camping??? Unfortunately tents are difficult to get hold of so after getting up at 7.30am and searching for coffee we decided to go to Elora Gorge tubing. It was ace - floating down a river on a rubber ring then falling off and hurling myself through some viscious rapids - ouch.
Next day was Sunday when all the
Elora GorgeElora GorgeElora Gorge

This is me and the rest of the Internationals at Elora Gorge
others moved in. The "foreigners" including myself went food shopping and found a microwave in a dumpster - the guys thought it would be a great idea to take it home - on the bus?
Got back to halls met everyone then we had the Pep rally. It was amazing real cheerleaders and mascots for each residence. The theory behind the rally was that each individual res did a dance infront of all the others on the football field. We learned lots of cheers like
"E.A.S.T thats the place we wanna be, don't go on your balcony, GO EAST" and BIG UPS. It was great fun. We also learned how to wind your toy - possibly the best dance ever.
The rest of FROSH week was spent partying trying out loads of fun activities like playing Kin Ball ( a big inflatable ball which has to be kept in the air) building houses out of cardboard then racing inside them, watching football games, borrowing pipes, face painting, going to keg parties and spotting Canadian animals. So far i've seen a live groundhog and a raccoon. I got really excited and the Canadians made fun of me. It's fair to say
Guelph Gryphons stadiumGuelph Gryphons stadiumGuelph Gryphons stadium

This is the stadium at my uni, this is where we had the Pep rally and it was packed of people
that i didn't get much sllep that week and by the end of it i was so tired i forgot to talk English and started talking Broch so people were getting really confused.
It was an amazing week and unlike anything i've seen at home sure the alcohol levels were on par but being back in first year for a week felt great. By the weekend i was grateful of the opportunity to sleep meeting so many new people in a short space of time has never been so exhausting but definately worth it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Wind your toy!Wind your toy!
Wind your toy!

This is a photo of my buddies winding the toy in our kitchen. It was the funniest thing and its become the trade mark dance.
Where did you get that?Where did you get that?
Where did you get that?

One of two great borrows that night
The second Borrow?The second Borrow?
The second Borrow?

Me and Courtney found a random pipe bend so decided it was perfect for keeping off the rain?
Karl in a boxKarl in a box
Karl in a box

This is Karl from Sweden in my wardrobe - he's a bit crazy!
Dancetent soundsystemDancetent soundsystem
Dancetent soundsystem

Heres some of my buddies at the worst disco in a tent i've ever been too. Only good thing was they gave us all the leftover hot dogs, coke and buns at the end.


13th October 2004

What a scam
Hey Jools, r u sure ur in guelph to study? Sounds like a good cover up ti me!!! ur obviously hayin a ball - good on ye, enjoy it, yer only young once.
28th December 2005

OMG! I'm moving to guelph soon.. I'm from Aus!
Heya!!! OMG! I laughed at your blog so much! hahaah. I'm moving to guelph Uni in 373days.. haha.. yes I'm counting! I'm going to be in the townhouses! let me know whats its like! dontfreckit@hotmail.com.. hope u get 2 read this! I hope its as good as it seems to me for you! :P BoieeE! Colin from Australia! :D

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb