Home at last!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
February 21st 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Welcome home?!Welcome home?!Welcome home?!

My parents house in Owen Sound... we cant see out half the downstairs windows thanks to all the snow that's fallen off the roof in the last couple days!
So first of all, I appologize for the late "Hey guys, I got home safe and sound" posting but it's been one crazy week here in Owen Sound. The good news is that it looks like i'm the proud new owner of a 2002 Neon - yay! This will be an invaluable tool in my quest to dig myself out of Africa induced debt :o)

Now for some more serious content:
I want to comment on all the horror stories you hear about Africa, South Africa specifically - because they're true. Virtually every second person I met in my travels had their own personal incidences (usually involving theft, muggings, or threats of violence) BUT, I want to point out that I had NO such incidences. I spent three months in Africa, and while there were times that I felt uncomfortable, I never once felt personally threatened. And I just want that to be a lesson to anyone who would choose to not visit a place because of what they've heard: dont let stereotypes or horror stories stop you from going to some magnificant places in the world. Obviously you should never go someplace the government of Canada has declared dangerous, and always be aware of your surroundings and take percautions with your valuables. But it can be done, I'm living proof of that - SO GO DO IT YOURSELF!!! :o)

So ya, I've got nothing else to say! I've been to Africa and back, and it was everything I imagined and more, and I'm now I'm happy to be back to my regular old life.

I want to thank everybody for taking such an intrest in my travels! I'm glad I could bring Africa to you! I know a lot of you have really enjoyed reading these blog postings, and that makes me very happy - but I'm not going to lie - this blog was more about keeping in touch with home and staving off loneliness and bordem, which of course breeds homesickness. So thank you for reading my postings and commenting on them because every single comment made me laugh and smile and just generally made my day!

So until my next adventure (rest assured there will be another adventure.... just not for a long long time!) this is the end of my African Travel Blog - Goodbye Africa, Goodbye blog :o)

Janine




Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb