Table Mountain conquered! Sort of...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 14th 2007
Published: February 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the side of Table MountainOn the side of Table MountainOn the side of Table Mountain

This is proof that i was there!
So it ended up being a fantastic day, nice and clear... except up on that mountain! High winds kept the cable car from running, but that didnt stop us from climbing up. But, i hate to admit to you all that I only got about 3/4 of the way up and decided to stop. It wasn't that I was too tired to go on (although i'm not going to lie - i was exhausted by that point!) but the winds were so strong up there that it was pushing me around and i was honestly afraid to fall. Also, i wasnt too keen on climbing back down, and walking down from as high as i got was bad enough! But no regrets, i was there and i did and i saw so i'm happy :o) I am still incredibly sore from all that... walking up was more like a 1km staircase than a nice hike up a hill... good times!

And my last night in Africa was a blast.... however, note to my future self: dont get really drunk on the last night because you spend your last day in pain wondering what the heck you were thinking! :o)
Our route up the mountainOur route up the mountainOur route up the mountain

The goal was to go through that gorge and up to the top, but i only made it to just before the gorge

BUT it was totally worth it - we went to an Ice Lounge!! It was literally, a bar made of ice. Everything ice - the counter, the stools, the walls, you could even get your drink in an ice glass! I spotted the Lounge when i was out the other day, and I really wanted to go, so I basically walked around the hostel asking random people if they were game and managed to find almost 10 people! And then when we got there it turns out that the ice was actually imported all the way from Canada!! They were all high-fiving and cheering for me and the Canadian ice, it was such an "I'm proud to be Canadian" moment for me :o) Plus they all agreed that since i'm going home it was good to spend some time in a big icebox since it would psyche me up to go back to winter! And DAMN it was cold!! They gave us fleece ponchos to wear over our clothes, but most of us were wearing flip flops so we got pretty numb pretty fast and we really didnt last that long in there... we left after maybe half an hour
The ViewThe ViewThe View

This is as high as i got, looking down at Cape Town's city centre, and Devil's Peak off to the right
- but it was totally worth it!

Anyway, it's T minus 4 hours until I fly outta here! Twelve painful hours to Germany, five hours bumming around the airport, and then 8 hours back to Toronto. I checked the weather earlier and it said -26 degrees for TO - yaaayyy!! I'm so not impressed.

So! The adventure ends... but the memories will last me a lifetime.

See you all soon!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Inside the Ice LoungeInside the Ice Lounge
Inside the Ice Lounge

Some of the gang, in the poncho's they loaned us!
Ice Age!Ice Age!
Ice Age!

I swear only Canadians could come up with something this hilarious! Classic!


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb