Tap Out


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Woodstock
July 31st 2021
Published: August 16th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 30. 8475Km.

I’d hoped the weather forecast would change but when I got up Saturday morning the rain was on it’s way as was forecast to continue for 33 hours. I didn’t unload the bike the previous night in anticipation of leaving so my options were to unload the bike so I could sit inside for a day and a half watching tv or sit outside under the awning. I had pretty much decided on Friday that if it was going to rain I was going home. I could watch TV at home and be more comfortable than in the trailer and since I’d been on the road for a month anyway cutting it short by a couple days was no big deal.

I cooked the half package of bacon I had left in the fridge and took my time doing the final cleanup before leaving. On cue as I was leaving the gates the rain started. I’ve since booked a week back here next year because this is a beautiful campground.

I topped up the fuel tank in the Jeep and headed for home. I stopped at the Hwy 27 market again on the way home for another peppered salami even though I had half of the one I got the day I left. It’s delicious and it’s a bit of a hike from home when I’m ready for another.

The rain held off at home all afternoon so I was able to unload the trailer and get it cleaned up before taking it to the storage lot. It took a fair bit of scrubbing to get a months worth of bugs off the front of the trailer but I did what I could. Overall it was a good trip with basically no problems and it’s always spectacular to see the rocky mountains. I have some memories of the first time I made the trip a dozen years ago and besides having more time I think I enjoyed that trip better because everything was unplanned on that trip. I left home knowing I was going coast to coast but didn’t have a timeframe or a route planned. With how busy campgrounds are this year that just wasn’t a sensible this to do this time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb