The end is near


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Parry Sound
July 30th 2021
Published: July 30th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 29. 8135Km.

I don’t know if it’s my age or just moving around so much but some days when I sit down to write this I have to stop for a second and think about where I was when I woke up. I do remember I had peanut butter on toast and yogurt with raspberries and nuts since it was a travel day. I also put a bunch of water in the holding tank so I didn’t have to connect a water hose at my new location. It’s supposed to start raining tomorrow morning and last about 33 hours so I may just leave early and head home which sucks because it’s a long weekend and a beautiful campground. Probably the nicest I’ve ever stayed at. Not to mention it’s a nice area to ride too. The less things I have to disconnect and pack up in the rain the better, hence the water in the tank.

The drive from Sault Sainte Marie wasn’t bad as well as being the shortest in many days at about 450Km. Just one stop for fuel outside Sudbury and a two kilometre delay with alternating traffic for bridge construction today.

When I checked in here in Seguin the girl asked me if I needed any ice or firewood to which I said I’d check when the rain is supposed to start and come back for wood if I wanted some. Little did I know my campsite was a kilometre away and since I didn’t want to have to unhook the trailer I walked back. A kilometre walk is nothing to me, I’ll walk eight or ten around my neighborhood for exercise but when you have to carry a bag of hardwood that distance it changes everything. Left shoulder, right shoulder, two handed, I just kept switching it up every time something got sore. Wood really gets uncomfortable jabbing into your shoulder after a couple minutes.

Anyway, I got some kindling split so I’m ready to go later. I’ve pulled a steak from the fridge to warm to room temperature for cooking and just put my BBQ on the picnic table since I didn’t unpack my normal folding cooking table. It’s about time to have a salad since I didn’t have a real lunch while driving today. A bit of jerky, some almonds, a banana and a part bag of Indian snacks made due.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

New cutsNew cuts
New cuts

New rock cuts for highway 69 widening.


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb