Here we go again


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
August 7th 2015
Published: September 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Here we go again. With this trip I will have been to every continent (N/A Antarctica). I was not certain which country in South America I wanted to go to but a lot of travel buddies recommended Machu Picchu. I unfortunately chose too late to take the traditional Inca Trail trek so after looking at the other options I went with the Salkantay trek. It is a more difficult and a day longer hike. There are also a ton of companies to choose from but I chose Bioandean based on recommendations from friends.

Day of flight was Friday afternoon and my younger brother drove me to the airport. Airline was Avianca which is a South American based airline and provides cheap flights all over South America. There uniforms are all red with a red fedora hat that looks quite stylish.

First flight was from Toronto San Salvador and than after a 45 minute layover San Salvador to Lima. I had a 4 hour layover in Lima so I took the opportunity to buy and mail some postcards. I would send another set of postcards once I get home to Canada. This is a safety measure because mailing postcards from a foreign country is not a guarantee it will reach its intended location.

Lima airport has a lot of early morning flights like mine so you will see a lot of people sleeping in the hallways and on the seats. The airport is quite crowded so finding a good seat may be tricky. Flights left on time and at 6:30AM I was on my last flight to Cuzco. I had a window seat so I could see the beautiful mountain ranges of the Andes. Review of Avianca. It is a good airline with decent food and entertainment systems on their planes. The flights all left on time and the flight attendants were helpful and pleasant.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb