Thursday 3/2/12 Toronto


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
May 3rd 2012
Published: May 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had planned to do the optional extra tour of the CN tower in the city of Toronto this morning however weather was against us. As it was overcast we wouldn't have seen anything other than clouds so tour director suggested we wait and see if it is clearer after lunch (suited me as was nervous about doing the tower as I remember being uncomfortable in the Sydney Tower and this is much taller apparently).

Anyway, did a morning bus tour around Toronto. My impression? Glass and cement city. Not a lot of old, creative or character buildings...just lots of very similar glass and cement high rise. Don't get me wrong, it's okay just ...I don't know...repetitive. We did stop off at a market and I bought some soft cheese and raspberries for a treat in the evening. (Best raspberries I have ever tasted!)

Weather cleared in the afternoon so off we went to the CN Tower. Outside elevator with glass door and glass panel in the floor...OMG...just getting to the viewing platform was a challenge. Anyway, arrived and got some good views. And guess what...Jenny you won't believe this...but I actually stood on the glass floor and looked down...Yes, I did! Hands were shaking afterwards and adrenaline was coursing through my body but there you go (held someone's hand to get on the floor...lol...but let go and walked off by self). Did I enjoy the CN Tower...not really....but I didn't expect to.

The rest of the afternoon we had to ourselves. So, what did I do? My washing...lol (but felt good as had run out of clean socks).

Dinner was a boat cruise on Lake Ontario. Average, buffet food but good company and lots of laughing. Started raining, rolling thunder and sheet lightening...looked lovely over the water. I have to say too that Toronto at night looked lovely from the water (eating my earlier words here). I even got up to dance! (Sad thing is that people not dancing were taking photos...sheesh...as long as I don't have to see them that's okay...lol).

Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb