Countdown to England!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
June 22nd 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Who could have predicted that a fleeting fixation on English accents (from cockney to scouse accents) would create a path for me from Toronto to Oxford, England?

I guess I can thank my lucky stars that the summer abroad program existed, and that I was blessed with enough foresight to plan and save for this adventure.

At this point I have about a month and 2 days before I leave for Heathrow - there's still so much to be done. I've gone to the orientation, so I've seen and met some people who will be in my class, and also met my professor - who reminds me of a much hipper Simon Cowell.

Things he's *warned* us about:

- English young people drink MUCH MORE than Canadian young people, so it would be best to stay true to our own drinking habits
- 999 is the equivalent of 911 in England
- there are no STOP signs in England, only "roundabouts"

I still have to buy a decent camera - I am going to one of THE most historic places in the world - I mean Oxford University alone has existed since about the 11th century. It would be nice to get a picture or a hundred.

About Oxford University
About Stonehenge

I'm also planning to see surrounding countries (ie: France), catch a football (soccer) match or two, and definitely see the Stonehenge. I'm sure with enough planning, it's possible.

The countdown officially starts, NOW.









Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0984s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb