ceasers in the sun


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
April 24th 2007
Published: April 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

666 spanida666 spanida666 spanida

penthouse of the devil
so after my long hard first stressful week of work! Mathew and I headed down to a 'patio' area of a bar (seats outside on the pavement), where in 3 hours I drank a few beers and got more of a suntan than I have ever got after a full day of Scottish sun. although I did not apply lotion and closely resembled a tomato (tomaedo)... Toronto news van was parked on the street with all its satellite dishes and cameras and then we realised that to 'capture the atmosphere the news man would be broadcasting from the patio. lipstick out; 'hello mum' handwritten on napkins we were all ready for 'action' in all we were 'live' 3 times each time more amusing than the first and slightly redder. one week and I am already on TV. shame I don't actually own one to watch myself!
stumbled back to the hostel to attempt packing all my exploded vacuumed pack bags into the luggage I bought it over in. but got distracted by the bar and the friendliness and opted for 'just one more' beer.

sat am.
feeling surprisingly refreshed and wrinkle free, due to skin tightening sun treatment. opted
patio funpatio funpatio fun

mathew sports new line in gold frames
for using huge Ikea storage bags for 'extra' clothes that will not go anywhere near the luggage it was bought over in. my worldly good have gone from 3 bags to 5 in as many days. (and I have not even been shopping yet). my 'ride' (lift) arrived and bags were loaded and off I went from rags to riches. the condo has large hotel porters carts (trolleys) so the last trip of luggage carrying again, null and void. into my room, rearranged the furniture and a quick drink and wasted no time at all to get out into the 75 degree temps and sunshine. walked along the lake front taking in my new fancy neighbourhood and wondered down to 'loblaws' (like Sainsbury's but 100 times bigger, with 100 times more choice, and probabaly 100 times more expensive) i have stopped doing the conversion into sterling now since there is no point. I bought only as much as I could carry home. which is something I should have been doing back in blighty since I threw too much food away. it was very hard to choose what to buy. made me want to eat lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. this novelty soon wore off when I cam to the 'chip isle' crisps! thankfully there was only room for one 'family size' bag for one, of sun chips. yummy.

back for a glass of red wine on the balcony and an attempt to unpack some clothes and hang them in my new closet (wardrobe). never actually got round to doing that as the wine tasted good and Christine, new room mate, (flat mate) were still talking into the small hours when Aran bought his latest girlfriend home.

Sunday is for shopping.
finally I have a free day to go and buy all the things I need. i.e. a swim suit so that I can use the pool, a set of speakers for my ipod to sit in and blast out some salsa tunes, and a slim line bag for my fancy new laptop. also hunt for coat hangers. everything on the list in hand I decide to head for a 'ceaser in the sun' (ceaser is a bloody mary but made with clamato juice instead of tomato juice. lighter, fresher and does not taste like alcohol in any way!) and find myself back at the patio from Friday night. there are no free tables so I just ask to sit down on the nearest seat at someone else's table while I drink my drink. the two guys that are already at the table tell me that its refreshing that European's are here because a Canadian's would not ask to join your table. we started talking and next thing we know 2 hours have passed along with a street samba band and we are hungry, order food, drink some more, eat our food and head home in our separate directions. a pleasant afternoon shopping! I loose the rest of the day collapses in my marshmallow bed in a sunstroke haze of red nosed climate induced coma. bliss...




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th April 2007

Hic
shall I enclose a bottle of factor 30 or red wine in the parcel I am posting tomorrow? !!!!!!!!!! All sounds like fun though. enjoy yourself.
25th April 2007

Was there something in your 'booklet on how Canadians live' which stipulated that when in Canadia all sentences must contain at least one instance of 'quotation marks'??
30th April 2007

Nice Blog
Keep it up!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb