Jazz Festival


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
July 27th 2005
Published: July 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

A and P's HouseA and P's HouseA and P's House

I forgot to tell you that I went for a ride on Adam's bike. It was so much fun, I really liked going fast. The funny looking person beside Adam is me. I wasn't sure how to get on.....
I've been in Toronto for a week now and have been having a great time. I arrived at Toronto airport with my enormous board bag and my back pack and Peggy (my cousin's partner) was there waiting for me. When she saw my head poking out from behind all my stuff I'm sure she was glad she had brought Adams truck to pick me up. Adam and Peggy live in a beautiful part of Toronto called the Beaches. For my fellow Aucklanders it's a lots like Devonport. Quiet, tree lined streets; pretty, little old houses and it's a ten minute walk down to lake Ontario. Which is like the sea except fresh water and freezing cold.
The weekend just been was the Beaches Jazz festival and it was so much fun. The main street gets blocked off and there are musicians every 50 meters or so, playing some great music. Adam and I went down all three night's and walked the street stopping off for a beer when we got thirsty. Peggy and some of their friends joined us for the second two nights and we had dinner out on the patio of The Lion on the Beach Friday night then
Adam and IAdam and IAdam and I

Crusing Queen St looking for a nice palce to eat.
another restaurant (can't remember the name sorry) on Saturday night. So I forgive you for thinking that Sunday was a slow day....not if Adam, Peggy, Andy and Paddy have anything to do with it. We went off rock climbing in the local gym. After all the drinking and eating we had done it was nice to get some exercise. I now know word's like "on belay" and "take" and "I'm to tired and sore can we stop now!". We went climbing again on Monday night and I think I did a bit better, but I tell you what I was sore on Tuesday.
Time for some pics. They will explain the Jazz festival better then my words can.
Later
Jo



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Shawn KellermanShawn Kellerman
Shawn Kellerman

One of the performers getting in to it.
Mae CromwellMae Cromwell
Mae Cromwell

This lady had a great voice. And was an awesome funny performer.
David RotundoDavid Rotundo
David Rotundo

This guy was our Favourite performer. He played the harmonica and sang the some jazzy blues.
The crowdThe crowd
The crowd

This is the crowd of peopel listning to Mae. Each band would play in half hour sets, so you could move around and watch different performers.
Go PeggyGo Peggy
Go Peggy

This is Peggy entertaining the motorists after the second night of the jazz festival. We sat out side on the front porch for ages listening to music and having a few more beers.
About to set offAbout to set off
About to set off

Summery clothes? Check Handbag? Check Comfy shoes? Check Tall cousin so I won't get lost? Check Right we are ready for a good night.
Peggy and IPeggy and I
Peggy and I

Walking down to Queen St. And having some fun on the way!
Artistic ShotArtistic Shot
Artistic Shot

Nice pic of my hand bag and my empty beer...hint hint. I was obviously thirsty.
See what?See what?
See what?

Adam and I on the board walk that goes all along the beaches. The CN tower is in the background.
Night number threeNight number three
Night number three

Paddy and I walking down to Queent St on Saturday night. Adam was trying to get in the picture as well.
Go Fredy GoGo Fredy Go
Go Fredy Go

This band was fun. The singer really involved the crowd and I got to sing into the mic two times.
DancingDancing
Dancing

A and P dancing to Go Freddy Go. They were a really up beat swing type band. Good fun to watch.
Making a messMaking a mess
Making a mess

I mad a mess of eating this ice cream. I managed to get my face tidy before the comera came out, but you can still see the ice cream all over my shorts.
SquirrelSquirrel
Squirrel

This little guy was in the back garden and digs up all of Peggy's newly planted flowers. Naughty but cute.


28th July 2005

Toronto Action
Wow lots of fun and games in Toronto... I wondered where you were!!! Barb
31st July 2005

Cousins
Nice to see cousins stepping out together

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb