Weekends


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
August 8th 2005
Published: August 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

the trusty Tarn 3the trusty Tarn 3the trusty Tarn 3

Setting up the tent all by myself at Massasugua
So I need to tell you all about the last two weekends here in Canada. I have got myself a nice cushy 8.30-4.30 reception job so for the first time ever I have the weekends off. And man have we been making the most of them!

Last night we got back to Toronto at 1am after a great weekend rock climbing at a beautiful place called Bon Echo. But more about that in a moment. Fist I need to tell you about the long weekend before that.

I managed to get myself invited along on a great canoeing trip with Adam, Peggy and four of their friends. We went to a lovely lake in Massasaugua and set up camp on a remote little camp site. The canoeing was a nice way to travel but with three people and gear in the Canoe I was glad to get to our camp site. We had a lovely couple of nights there playing cards (wizard is now my favorite card game), reading, swimming and eating. It was great. There was a slight worry about bears coming into the camp ground so I went to sleep with a canoe paddle and whistle right
Poo RockPoo RockPoo Rock

We were going to swim from this rock but it was covered in s*#t from these guys. So it got tittled poo rock.
next to me in the tent. No Bear was going to get me without a fight. On Sunday night we watched the most amazing lightning storm which was happening on the other side of the lake. I have never seen such great lightning ever. It was huge fork lightning spreading across the sky like big angry hands…we sat out watching it was ages. The next day we quickly packed up camp and tried to get to the dock before the rain came down….we weren’t fast enough and got absolutely soaked. Thankfully it was warm and I really enjoyed being out in the big fat rain drops.

Now on to last weekend and Rock Climbing…..

Man it was a weekend of extremes.

First I was happy to be out of the city camping on the lake front with a great bunch of people. Then I was in awe by the sight of the cliffs rising hundreds of feet up from the lake. Then I was a little nervous when I started my first climb. Then I was scared repelling down after the climb. Then Saturday night I was having fun as we ate and drank and swam and
firefirefire

Adam and his fire
went in the sauna and watched the stars. Then I reached my emotional peak half way through our climb on Sunday….I WAS PETRIFIED!!!!

I have to admit to being so scared that little tear’s kept squeezing out the corners of my eyes and my nose wouldn’t stop running. Though to my credit I didn’t have a big paddy and demand to be lowered down I bit my bottom lip and asked for some help. With a lot of coaching and squealing (more like grunting) from me I finally made it up the last 60m pitch to see the most amazing views from the top. Yhaaaaaa! That was the best feeling ever. Adam, Peggy and I finally got back to the dock about 6-7hours after leaving that morning. We were tired, hungry, dehydrated and sun burnt but I was the happiest I have been in ages!

Time for some pics
Much love
Jo



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Quick smart clean upQuick smart clean up
Quick smart clean up

This is Andy, Paddy and I try to get the dishes washed befre the rain came down in Massasaugua
Go the $14 ponchoGo the $14 poncho
Go the $14 poncho

yeh it's raining but I'm still having a good time:)
Birthday ridgeBirthday ridge
Birthday ridge

First step of my first out door climb. Don't I look good?????
Yep so I got that farYep so I got that far
Yep so I got that far

This is half way up Birthday ridge. Not to sure about this whole idea really.
And up we goAnd up we go
And up we go

"Don't talk to me I'm concentrating"
Nice repelle down.....Nice repelle down.....
Nice repelle down.....

I think that is a forced smile on my face but it actually wasn't that bad once I was going. Sitting back over the top of the cliff wasn't a natural thing for me to do, considering my history with cliffs and all!
This is the lifeThis is the life
This is the life

Back at the Dock after a well deserved swim and a beer with my new friends Dave and Shawn.
This is the life take 2This is the life take 2
This is the life take 2

We just sat around drinking and having fun. When it got a bit hot we would just roll back into the water to cool off. Just remember to take your hat and sunnies off next time Jo!
Sunday morningSunday morning
Sunday morning

Adam setting up a Belye station at the bottom of one pine.
Waiting my turnWaiting my turn
Waiting my turn

I was really not to sure about this climb from the start.
AdamAdam
Adam

Placing saftey pieces.
Nice butt shotNice butt shot
Nice butt shot

I had just gone over the flat bit of rock on the right when the left would have been much easier. Oh well next time I know which way to go.
Smiley JoSmiley Jo
Smiley Jo

Needed to put this one in because it is a natural smile and shows that I really did enjoy myself over all.


9th August 2005

hello
hey jo, long time no hear, don't u just luv the lighting storms here.. good to see ur still loving canada.
9th August 2005

Love it
Go Jo... errrr... just keep on going...what more adventures are there? Lucky you!!! Barb

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb