This is not a Blog


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
March 3rd 2007
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Leeds GangThe Leeds GangThe Leeds Gang

These are me and my mates in Leeds 3 years ago.
Welcome.

Right now I'm sitting in my downtown apartment in Toronto waiting to go on a trip to the Scottish Highlands for 5 weeks. I can't wait. I've been trapped in Ontario for the past 3 years living in 3 different places while finishing up 2 degrees, working at 2 different thatres while attempting to break into the TV production industry. I've somewhat succeeded having just finished up 2 different shows, and now's my chance, while on a break, to get back to the UK.

That's right, back to the UK. I sorta kinda used to live there for a year. Had the time of my life. It was supposed to be on a university exchange, but I sure didn't spend much time in class. I was in Leeds, the biggest student town in the UK and with more pubs, clubs and shopping than any other city (with maybe the exception of London). When I wasn't drinking with my flatmates and friends, I was off travelling Europe every weekend. It was great. The Europeans don't know how good they have it, with all the cheap flights and a dozen different counties just ready to be explored. While here in
Around the WorldAround the WorldAround the World

Travelling all the time in 2004
Canada we have easy access to . . .well . . . the US. I'm not saying that the US isn't a beautiful and exciting country, but I'd rather explore the beaches of Spain rather than the beaches of South Carolina.

So thus I am returning to the country that gave me so much. And this time around it's going to be a bit different. Instead of backpacking from city to city, town to town, church to church, I'm going to stay put and let Europe come to me. I'm going to be working at a hostel in the Highlands, experiencing small town living, the beautiful and rugged environment and all the fun and interesting scottish people along the way.

You're more than welcome to join me. Although I have no idea what to expect.

Let's find out . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Pisa anyone?Pisa anyone?
Pisa anyone?

Guess where I am.
A Bern StreetA Bern Street
A Bern Street

The beautiful capital of Switzerland


5th March 2007

Hip hip hooray!
Way to go, Mike! Happy trails!

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.1kb