Day 5: Up, Over Gitcheegumee


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
June 29th 2015
Published: June 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Look up. Way up. As if the Friendly Giant was our guide, we took the road into the highlands north of Lake Superior. Paraphrasing the Arrogant Worms, we saw rocks, and trees, and water. And then some more!

I saw a few place names that I haven't thought of since my last time through this way in 2004: Batchawana Bay (B'wana Clyde Batty to some of us), Michipicoten (Michicopiten to the spelling-challenged), Obatanga (not to be confused with the Okavango in Botswana), and White River (minus 72? Really?).

The most wonderful sunset I've ever seen was at Lake Superior Provincial Park, camping and playing Crazy Eights with my kid sister in 1986 - 29 years ago.

Cat was becoming bored, so I tried to get her to smile for a selfie (photo 1). No such luck. I plopped her into her nest on top of the cage and caught her at her favourite activity (photo 2).

We made good time today, so at Thunder Bay, as the rain started during my wait for the thai take away, I dropped into the local sports store. Johnny would love this place (photo 3). If anyone is considering Xmas presents, then photo 4 might come in handy when they come to visit the Island.

Finally, Ontario hospitality does not compare very well against Quebec. The local Ontario Lottery and Gaming Commission was giving away no free money (photo 5). Drat!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb