Arrow River Forest Hermitage


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
February 5th 2013
Published: February 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi Friends, I made it to the Hermitage in Canada. I started my first day of work today cooking on my own for the residents here: me, Ajahn, Esco, and Shawn. Shawn is a younger fellow around age 23, Esco is an older fellow of about 65, Ajahn is 60. All is well. I am enjopying my first day. I am here in the library for a book club study group. I drove myself and Ajahn into town. We will be reading The Tibertan Book of the Living and Dying.

Today I woke up at around 6:50. Dressed in my not so cold cabin. It was probably around 5 degrees in the cabin (I let the fire go out! Fiftenn degrees warmer than the previous morning). I went to morning Puja (chanting and meditation) in the Sala (the place where we meditate). Check out the website if you want to see it. After meditation I started cooking. I made fried potatoes, eggs, tofu eggs, steamed Bok Choi, and served yogurt, granola, fruit, breads, chocolate, drinks, and some other candies. This is the main meal of the day which we have all been eating together at 10:30. When Shawn starts his 7 week silent retreat he will eat in his Kuti, or cabin.

We usually eat and chat and talk about whatever. Esco makes a nice addition to the place and some others are expected to come maybe in March sometime. Esco has a Brittany Spaniel and Ajahn has a cat. It is nice to have some animal friends around.

So the rest of the day I tended to the fire in the pavilion, washed dishes, changed out the water using buckets and the water well, swept the kitchen, cleaned the kitchen and organized. This took most of the day. Afterwards and returned to the Kuti and started a fire to warm it up and to take a short break. Then it was time to drive to Thunder Bay. So here I am!

There is a suana on the property and makes for a nice bath. THere is a wood stove to heat the water and two metal pans to wash your self. Quite interesting but very relaxing.

The woods are marvelous and quiet. Not too much snow, and the sun has been shining. Cold at night. It got down to 30 below once or twice It warms to about negative 5 or maybe a little warmer during the day. I stay warm but need to get boots.

Well, this is good for now. I wish you all well in the States and whereever you are😊



~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb