Thunder Bay Engagment


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
November 19th 2007
Published: November 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay so I flew into ThunderBay last friday, November 9th. Matt picked me up at the airport with a dozen red roses and a BIG bag of m&ms (my absolute favorite chocolate) At this point he still refused to tell me what exactly he had planned for the next day, but all I knew was that I had to get up super early (i wasnt impressed, but i figured id go with it haha)
So Saturday morning he picked me up at 8am and we grabbed some breakfast at his place and he informed me that we were going SHOPPING!!! He was taking me to the mall to buy me a nice dressy outfit for the rest of the day. Now im broke, so I never get to go shopping, so this was HUGE for me haha.
So once I picked out an outfit (from RW&CO, my FAVORITE) he told me that we were going to see a play at the local theatre. At this point I was a little overwhelmed cause I couldnt believe he thought to take me to a play. Theatre is obviously a big thing for me, but the fact that he was willing to see through one was pretty awesome haha.
The play turned out to be WEIRD, but we enjoyed laughing AT the actors throughout it. At one point during the intermission we were sitting in our chairs and Matt goes, "AHHHH!" out loud all excitidly. I thought to myself that my boyfriend was completely CRAZY but he told me it was just because he was REALLY happy (he told me later he was thinking about the fact that he was proposing that night)
After the play he took me to this really nice resteraunt in Thunder Bay that had AMAZING food. Once we finished he said he wanted to order some dessert but I told me that I didnt want any so hed be on his own eating it. So he offered to just share the dessert with me and I told him NO I wasnt hungry! He was being really persistent about this dessert and told me all I had to do was have one bite and thats fine, so I said whatever.
So after a few minutes the waitress brought out our dessert, which was on a pink plate with a cheesecake bowl in the middle. When the put the plate down in front of me written in white icing around the outside was, "Will you Marry Me"? I remember looking back and forth from Matt to the plate waiting for him to give some reaction. He was kinda about to go down on one knee but he kind of forgot haha. It was kind of awkward because I was in a booth and he was on the other side of the table. So he slid over to me and after that its kind of a blur for me... haha. I KNOW he was saying stuff about how much he loved me and wanted to spend the rest of his life with me. The funny thing was that it took him a while to get the ring out!!! Apperently he didnt know they were going to bring the dessert out right away and so he didnt have time to 'get ready'. So he had to take out his wallet, keys, and some random receipt. Anyways, my first reaction was to say, "NO WAY!" (in shock...not in a no i dont want to marry you way haha) but apperently I just sat there with my hands over my mouth for a while in complete shock before i said, "YES OF COURSE!!!!"
It was nice because we had the entire side of the resteraunt to ourselves. The staff had put everyone else on the other side of the resteraunt so that we could have privacy so it was really nice!! Wasnt that a fantastic proposal? I thought he did REALLY well considering he had gone in to talk the chef of the resteraunt and picked out our booth and everything. What a lucky girl I am 😉
Soooo thats basically how it all went down haha. Then we went home and spent about 3 exhausting hours on the phone!!!

Sunday was meeting and we went to the Brundages for a great spaghetti dinner! We also went to Starbucks after gospel meeting and had us some gingerbread lattes mmmm.
Monday I went with Matt to lakehead since he had a couple of classes to attend. They seriously speak a whole other math language it was ridiculous, i couldnt even follow what was going on. But I brought bridal magazines so those entertained me for most of the class haha. That night we went and got our pictures taken at SEARS portrait studio and I think we got a pretty good one.
Tuesday was a really relaxed day. We did some errands and watched a couple of Matts Creation/Science dvds with dr. dino. Then at night was ministry meeting at the hall again. And Wednesday was the sad day I left to go back home to Vancouver since I had a presentation and exam in the next couple days!!! Eeeek.

Obviously, that trip to Ontario was FANTASTIC!! haha.

Advertisement



2nd February 2010

I'm laughing!
When I read your comment about Matt sounding a little 'crazy', I had to laugh! That's him! I laughed too, just imaginating him looking all over for the ring while emptying his wallet/pocket!!! Funny guy heh but so loveable!!!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb