Visit to Lakehead & Back to Kapuskasing


Advertisement
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I just got back from a week in freezing cold Ontario. I knew it would be cold in March, but I never thought it would be as cold as it was. When Matt picked me up from the airport and we walked out of those sliding airport doors I felt like turning around and heading right back inside. True, it was sunny outside and the air wasnt moist, but that cold just cuts right into you!

We drove to Kapuskasing the next morning with the Brundages for the Easter Conference. I couldnt believe the amount of snow they had there. The snowbanks were at least 15 feet high and it was hovering around -18 degrees! We spent the first night there eating a warm bowl of soup that Mama Claudine had cooked up for about 30 people.

We spend the weekend at the conference sitting in the back row along with Robb & Angele, Melina, Ben, and a few others. It was so nice to see everyone again and actually have a weekend to hang out with them. The conference lasted until Sunday night and we left early Monday morning to head back to Thunder Bay.

I went with Matt to his classes all week which was actually kind of fun. Of course I had no idea what any of his profs were talking about in his classes... but I did enjoy playing my own game of "greek or not." I also had Matts laptop to watch various films on like "Enchanted" and "I am Legend." Of course I had to make sure I didnt laugh, scream or cry loudly and give myself away. I also read through an entire novel in 3 days because the alternative was to actually listen to the prof drone on about mechanically systems and how they move (bleh.) I was just happy to be sitting next to Matt and drinking my Tim Hortons coffee.

It really wasnt an exciting travel trip, but it was great because I got to spend a week with the man I love.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd February 2010

Cold Easters around here!
You are right Carolyn, our Easter conference is usually always stormy, or icy roads, very rarely is it nice unless it's at the end of April and again... But it was soooooooooo much better with you two here! Actually, all of my kids here, 5 of them then! So glad Mylon is one of us now too! We love you all so much! God is good, always!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb