Kapuskasing for Christmas


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kapuskasing
January 10th 2009
Published: March 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I have just returned from a wonderful cold Christmas in Northern Ontario. I honestly didnt know if I was going to be able to survive it but here I am!

To start off, I didnt think I was going to GET to Thunder Bays airport on the 21st of December. It snowed and snowed for days before I was suppose to leave and it was still snowing when we left for the airport at 445am. Thankfully I got there JUST on time after sliding around on the highway and took off after a slight delay due to de-icing the plane. I arrived in Thunder Bay only a couple hours behind, which was pretty good considering their were people stranded all over the country at airports. The next morning Matt and I headed straight for Kap.

We spent the first couple days just enjoying being together with the family again (and doing some last minute wrapping of presents!) Now since Matts family is French, their tradition is to actually celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve. Weird for me!!! But we had a fantastic dinner complete with Tourtie and stayed up til midnight playing games with the Labelle family. Then at midnight we read the Christmas story and started opening Christmas presents. Some of my favorite gifts were a jewellery box, some new lingerie, and some body butter.

On Christmas day, we slept in late and had a big brunch. That night we headed to Smooth Rock Falls to meet up with some of Matts relatives. It was fun to hang out with a bunch of french people and be challenge at my francais. I think I did pretty good, I understood what everyone was saying most of the time!

On boxing day I ended up having my first bridal shower! I was not expecting it in the slightest and I honestly dont know how Matt kept it from me. We had a blast and I was so thankful to everyone who came and did all that for me!

For the rest of the trip we just relaxed. We left back to thunder bay a few days after New Years so I was flying home on the 5th. My flight home ended up being terrifying, and I am not a white knuckle flier!!! We got caught in a major snowstorm and it was an extremely rough ride all the way home. When we landed in Abbotsford you couldnt even see the run way, it was totally covered in snow! Then it took 2 hours to drive home as the highways were a mess. Basically ive come to the conclusion that travelling over Christmas is NOT a great idea!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd February 2010

More Christmas' in Kap Please!
Fun reading this, as if re-living it! Glad you enjoyed this french style Christmas réveillons with 'tourtière' and all! I know and understand how travelling in the winter over here is actually a dangerous choice but I do hope to see you guys again, something to pray about heh?

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb