Fenwick, Ontario, Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Niagara Falls
August 1st 2008
Published: August 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Niagara FallsNiagara FallsNiagara Falls

The falls.
Today I rode to Niagara Falls, and stayed on the Canadian side. From what I hear it is much nicer on the Canadian side. The falls were pretty cool, and I had someone take a picture of me with the falls in the background just to prove I was there. I can put up with fighting crowds for a little while, but after a couple hours I have usually had enough. I heard the Niagara Parkway up to Niagara on the Lake was a nice ride, so I rode around that area for a while. And when I left and started making my way back to what I thought was Rich’s house, I ended up meeting up with the parkway again! I figured this was the right time to pull out the GPS to make sure I was going the right direction. The only problem I have is my GPS doesn’t have Canada on it, so all I did was zoom so I could see where I was currently and where I needed to go. It shows which direction you are traveling, and I just drive until I made my way back home.

Actually before I went home I stopped
MeMeMe

Proof that I was there.
at Wal-Mart to get supplies to change my oil, since I am just shy of 5,000 miles on this oil. I was amazed how much oil cost me compared to back home, even at Wal-Mart! I paid $23 for 4.4L of oil! And Wal-Mart didn’t have the oil filter I was looking for, all they had were Fram filters (from what I hear these are horrible!). So I decided to stop at a motorcycle shop to get a Honda oil filter, and it cost me $20! So up here I paid $43 for an oil change, I couldn’t believe it. But I suppose that was my only option, because Rich told me I could use his garage to work on my bike, and I was due for an oil change very soon. Just for reference, before I left I changed my oil with Wal-Mart oil and a filter and it only cost me $15. So I paid almost 3 times as much as I normally do, ridiculous! That is my only complaint about Canada so far I guess.

So after cruising around all day I came back to the house, and Rich made dinner. It was very good I might add! He barbecued some meat, and we just sat and hung out all night. Rich showed me some pictures of past riding, including at Deals Gap which I am going to when I pass through eastern Tennessee. The famous phrase is 300+ turns in 11 miles. That got me very excited to ride around that area! I hear there is a guy that waits at certain corners and photographs all bikers that drive by, and posts the pictures on his web site for the riders to buy if they want to. I will most likely do this, so I better start practicing my knee-dragging ability.

After a while I went and changed the oil on my bike, and I let Rich take my bike out for a spin. Rich’s roommate let me take his cruiser out for a ride too, so I tagged along behind Rich. But that cruiser has no chance of keeping up with my bike, I know this from personal experience! But then again, cruisers aren’t sportbikes, and I don’t think they ever will be. But it cruised nice.

Tomorrow morning I will be cleaning and lubing my chain, since I am a little anal about doing that. Rich and I will be on the road sometime around 8am, and I was going to take him out to breakfast before we left town. He is going to ride with my to Buffalo, and he is going to split and travel serious mileage tomorrow. I’ll be hanging out in Buffalo, catching up on emails, and having dinner with the Eubanks (Kyle’s relatives).

As usual, it is past midnight, I must go to bed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb