A James Bay Interlude by Theresa


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Moose Factory
November 1st 2009
Published: November 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Moose Factory, Ontario


Weeneebayko HospitalWeeneebayko HospitalWeeneebayko Hospital

in Moose Factory, where I am on site working.
Hi Everyone! I'm up near James Bay, a few hundred kilometers south east from Dave in Churchill! My work has taken me to this pretty little place on an island in the middle of the Moose River and just a boat ride away from Moosonee where my plane landed. The Moose River drains into the James Bay. The landscape is the Hudson's Bay Lowlands and muskeg forests. The island itself and the neighbouring islands are prone to erosion because of the sandy, silty ground. Many fossils are found up here, as is the odd diamond. The diamond mine, De Beers, is up the coast near Attawapiskat, a reservation community in the region.

Moose Factory was originally a fur-trading post, set up by Charles Bayly of the Hudson's Bay Company, and a fort was built there in the early 1670s. Many of the original Hudson's Bay Company workers came from the Orkney Islands. Mostly Cree people live here, as well as the other settlements nearby (Moosonee, Fort Albany, Attawapiskat, Kashechewan and Peawanuk).

For more info, see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moose_Factory,_Ontario

People in the community are very friendly. I have made many little friends who stop me on my walks to ask me
Hospital housesHospital housesHospital houses

The hospital houses many locum heath providers who come up on a rotational basis. Mainly nurses, dentists and doctors.
where I'm going and what my name is.

Last week a few of us went to the "Haunted House Tour" that Moose Factory community members put on for the town. We were led into many dark rooms with scary strobe lighting and fog. Many scary witches, ghouls, and ghosts scared us silly as we felt our way through the dark passages. What fun!

Last week we also attended a community event of a Turkey Dinner for the "Week of the Child" celebration. And left with a free t-shirt.

A few days ago on my walk through the forest, I had a special treat in the melting snow....black bear tracks. And seeing as the snow just fell the day before and that morning, it means the bear was using the trail within a few hours of me. So, naturally, I continued to walk the trail. (wouldn't you?) And naturally, I started to sing out loud in order to deter said beast from surprising me and resulting in underwear of the tarnished kind. I was successful! and exited the bush unscathed. (wiping my brow of sweat).
Here are a few photos of my experience so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

clay soupclay soup
clay soup

The silty muck from the lowlands dots our boots and pant legs with a lovely beige colour.
My apartmentMy apartment
My apartment

3rd one down. Streets are not paved here. Cheaper property taxes, tho!
water taxiswater taxis
water taxis

to travel back and forth to the mainland (Moosonee)
water taxiswater taxis
water taxis

with a northern flavour! Plastic sheet windows and tarp rooftops, very chic.
another water taxianother water taxi
another water taxi

takes us from the mainland (Moosonee) to Moose Factory Island
Moose RiverMoose River
Moose River

at low tide
inside the water taxiinside the water taxi
inside the water taxi

this one had a fancier roof. Kevin, my colleague and manager of the Northwest Telepharmacy Program
windsheild looks clear for windsheild looks clear for
windsheild looks clear for

our viewing pleasure
dinner at the Eco Lodgedinner at the Eco Lodge
dinner at the Eco Lodge

I was invited to join some locums for supper. Beautiful restaurant.
getting ready for snowballsgetting ready for snowballs
getting ready for snowballs

These girls, 2 doors down from me were preparing for a snowball battle with the boys.
sloppy roadssloppy roads
sloppy roads

no paved roads anywhere, great muck when it rains and snows. Definitely rubber boot terrain.
sunlightsunlight
sunlight

the sun came out to help me with my photo


2nd November 2009

bear careful
Did they not tell you never to walk alone, This is very scary my daughter, be careful, better carry pepper spray or something next time, Do you stay at the hospital while you are there, Dave's movie video is really something to see, beautiful polar bear. take care MOM
2nd November 2009

HBC
The HBC liked people from the Orkney's because they thought the people were "industrious, submissive, and free of disease"!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb