A Week...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
July 25th 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A Week today I'll be in Honduras. Scary thought, but also very exciting. At this time actually, we'll be waiting at the airport in Miami to board the plane for Honduras.
I still can't believe I'm leaving. I'm meeting people for lunches and dinners, hugging them and saying goodbye, but I still feel like I'm just going for a month or so... a whole year. I can't fathom it at the moment.
I haven't really started packing yet. Today is the day I begin that. Up until now I've been so busy uploading all of my CD collection onto my new laptop. I just don't want to have to pack any of them and it'll be so much easier to have them on my computer. Yesterday I revised my camp packing list for Honduras. I'm scared about having only two suitcases, as we all know how much I suck at packing. I figure I'll have to pack and repack a couple of times.
Maybe packing will make me believe I'm leaving. Saying goodbye to my friends and extended family has been tough but I suppose a year isn't that long.
In chatting with a good friend lastnight, I got to thinking about facing our fears and how this journey of mine will be a growing experience for me. Here's a quote that fit really well...

So don't be afraid to make mistakes, to stumble and fall, because most of the time the greatest rewards come from doing the things that scare you the most. Maybe you'll get everything you wish for. Maybe you'll get more than you ever could have imagined. Who knows where life will take you. The road is long and in the end, the journey is the destination.

- Whitey on an episode of One Tree Hill.

Advertisement



25th July 2006

It's going to be great!
I'm glad things are falling into place...I can't believe there's only a week left too! It's going to be such a great adventure and I am sure the year is going to fly by..just think, pretty soon you will be saying.."I can't believe we leave to go home in a week"! We'll be thinking of you and looking for your updates. Love ya, Pallesh P.S Don't forget to pack your TLK binder...lol
26th July 2006

You just HAD to add that quote and make me all teary, huh? I wish you both (even though I've never met Jill, if she's friends with you she is likely awesome) a safe and fantastic trip! I promise to send some emails and chat about our shows (if either one of us can download them!)
26th July 2006

GOOD LUCK
Hi Sarah, I just want to say good luck. I'm sure this is going to be an experience that will be with you for the rest of your life. Make the best of it and learn from the experience, which I'm sure you will. Be safe out there and enjoy yourself. Keep sending updates on this web site. I will be looking for it. Talk to you later and take care. Love you. Uncle Wally
26th July 2006

I just wrote reply letters to all my girls and wrote that quote on the back of each one... it's also posted on the wall near my bunk. I love you very much.
26th July 2006

We'll miss you but we are so proud
We will all miss you so much Boo but we are full of pride for what you are doing and have accomplished so far - you will be an awesome teacher - can't wait to experience it with you from here!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.7kb