The Countdown Has Begun!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Guelph
September 7th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

I am here!

In less than a week this green point will have expanded half way across the globe...holy smokes!

Devils PulpitDevils PulpitDevils Pulpit

This is a section of the Bruce Trail that I climbed regularly...I guess the escarpment is as close as I've come to a mountain!
Well here I am...less than a week to go!
I still can't believe that this big adventure which started over a year ago is about to happen.

This year has been busy, emotional and satisfying. I have learned so much this year about generosity and kindness as well as how great my community is! I couldn't have bee so successful with my fundraising if it wasn't for my family and friends.

I feel like I have done as much as I could to prepare for this, but still can't shake this anxious feeling in the pit of my stomach. My head is racing constantly with the things I need to remember before I leave. I think I will feel better once I'm gone!

I have posted some pictures of the amazing adventures which have already happened this year....

St. Joe's Coffee for My Climb Fundraiser
My Climb Silent Auction & Variety Show
Equipment Testing/Hikes

Check here on my blog or on the website www.ascentbc.ca for updates!

Can't wait to tell you all about my trip!

Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Hilton FallsHilton Falls
Hilton Falls

A beautiful trail which I did regularly this summer.
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

Nathan Feil - one of the classiest country singers I know!
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

Nathan & Robyn - country tribute artists who were awesome performers and donated their talents to my event.
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

Bruce Heron - One of the greatest Elvis performers in Canada graced the stage at my fundraiser and drew a huge crowd to the show!
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

Mum & Dad - Saying thank you to all who donated and helped out at the event.
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

Jesse Heron - The apple doesn't fall far from the tree in this family! Jesse is one of Canada's favorite dancers and was light on his feet tributing Michael Jackson.
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

One of my favorite dancers - Simon - challenging Jesse to a dance-off!
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

Connor Coward-Mclellan - One of Guelph's greatest child stars performed in the final act of the night!
Variety Show & Silent AuctionVariety Show & Silent Auction
Variety Show & Silent Auction

Gary Heron - The first in the family to perform in public. An amazing classic country tribute artist!
Coffee For My ClimbCoffee For My Climb
Coffee For My Climb

Mum was up early helping me to set up for our fundraiser at St. Joseph's Health Centre Guelph.
Coffee For My ClimbCoffee For My Climb
Coffee For My Climb

Dad was there at 6:30am - bright eyed and bushy tailed - brewing coffee and pushing raffle tickets!


8th September 2009

chrissy
Chrissy, what an amazing thing you have done for research. I hope you have nothing but great weather while climbing. I would love to join you on this journey for I think it will be one of the most rewarding experiences you will ever encounter. Wish you the best of luck lady xoxox
10th September 2009

Proud!
I am so proud of you! Can't wait to follow along your adventure :) Beans xo

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb