Fish day 7


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Elliot Lake
August 24th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today being the last day and all, we decided to have just one more killer breakfast. Today was eggs Benedict. Who would ever think we'd have eggs Benedict at a fish camp, but we did and they were killer. Did I mention the breakfast was killer. Sorry, we didn't go out fishing this evening and that means we sat under the shade tree and had a beer or two before typing this blog. The fishing started out pretty good for Fishin Joe and myself and we had three nice pike on the stringer by 9:30. The fishing slowed for us so we decided to head for the rock and there we saw that Uncle Terry and the boys were catching some walleye. So we decided to fish for walleye too and Joe caught six on our first drift and I was skunked. Uncle Terry and Pat and John had five in the box (they had a live well on the boat) and decided to try their luck on some pike and off they went to Vance's bay. Dad and Rex kept fishing for walleye and Rex caught five and put four in the box. Fishing slowed for Joe and I until we got a fish on each of our four lines we had out. I hooked into something rather large and played it for a few minutes and thought I had a huge walleye on and it turned out to be a huge catfish. bummer! The other three lines didn't yield anything worth keeping and we decided to make one more drift and head back at 4:15 so we could make dinner at 5. Well we didn't get anything until 4:15 when I hooked into a nice walleye and it was just under the slot size (16-22 inches). It was a nice fat one too and made me a happy camper As this was my first walleye of the day and had caught at least one each day and was not going to be denied! (Someone was smiling down on me, I think). Back to the lodge we went to make our last dinner and we made it by 15 minutes. Had another wonderful dinner and settled up with James On our bills and then on to the shade tree for a beer or two. Did a little packing and now I'm back at the lodge doing this awesome blog (ha ha, I am just full of myself at the moment!). Oh, and I'm getting ready to facetime my lovely wife and see what's been happening on the farm.

I have to apologize to you about writing a lot about Joe and myself, but I am in the boat with Joe all day and don't always know what's going on in the other boats. And, I don't have a way of getting the other guys photos on this blog right now and I want to have them all send me photos of their catches when we get back and I'll post a final blog with their photos.



It's been a great trip and I believe everybody had a great time! We have a ton of fish and hope to have a fish fry and we'll dream up some more stories in the meantime that we can share at the fish fry. Tight lines from Brennan Harbour!



Oh, I gotta mention that Pat Lang gets the "Joe Currin not sure if i'll like fishing so I'll bring my golf clubs just in case" award as he never got his clubs out and was always looking forward to going out to get that trophy fish each day. congratulations Pat!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



26th August 2013

Day is done...
I am so sad that the awesome blogging is over. I don't mind reading about and seeing pics of Joe and you :) Thanks for keeping us tuned into your daily shenanigans.
28th August 2013

Yep, all good things always come to an end...

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb