Departure Preparation


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Durham
November 8th 2010
Published: November 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Counting the Days



So far I'm still in jolly old Canada, but I'm in the process of planning for my departure which is fast approaching in only two weeks. Passport has been renewed, insurance is under control, credit card company is notified, ticket is paid and printed and pounds have been ordered. All I need to do is do a little more preparation shopping and then packing.

The tentative plan is to head to Essex when I arrive, spend a day there then head back to London to meet another friend. I will do some sight seeing there, the British Museum and a few other things, hopefully not too touristy. Then the following day I'll be off to Brighton to experience the night scene and shopping by the Pier. The following weekend I will make my way over to Bath and then back to Southend on Sea. The following week a day trip to France may be in the works, but that is still under consideration.

I really can't wait to arrive in London. One of the things I look forward to finding out is what England smells like, and how it differs from Canada. I'm also looking forward to having a nice visit with the friends I have not seen since high school, seeing and experiencing some interesting new things, catching up, drinking a heck of a lot of really good tea, and I want to meet a bunch of new and interesting people as well. As much as the science student in me wants this to be an empirical experiment about the world itself, and as much as the history buff in me wants to learn about the world the way it has been in the past, I honestly see it as more of a modern cultural experience. A test-run if it were...I can always go back and do the history and the science some other time. That being said, if I were to bump into Richard Dawkins while I was there, my head might explode with complete and utter awe.

😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb