Places in Our Backyards


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Durham
June 8th 2010
Published: June 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

There are so many beautiful places in the world that I still need to travel too. The Swiss Alps, New Zealand, Australia, India etc. There are just too many to name on here. These places, to a foreigner such as myself, seem like paradise. But, what about the land we live and reside in now? The creeks, fields and forests that spread through our own backyards. Places we have seen many times, but never really looked at.

I decided the other day to take a walk down by the Bowmanville creek. I long stretch of beautiful forest, right in my backyard. Not a kilometre away. I had been there many times, but have never really looked closely. I was in need of some sort of awakening and needed to find it close to home. I dream too much of better things, people or places, and thought I could find it here. Strolling through the woods, I noticed more wildlife and scenery than I could have imagined was down there. Birds soared overhead while others chirped, hidden in the trees. Chipmunks and squirrels lay around everywhere. The water flowing and the green leaves gently blowing definitely soothed me to the point of satisfaction.

Just goes to show that there are beautiful things in your backyard and not a real need to travel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb