Halifax and sort of Sunny


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
May 29th 2008
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

003003003

The Alexander Keiths Brewery. Pouring a pint of the red ale.
Hi you all
Sorry about the ending of the last blog. I'm not sure what really happened....
So Yesterday I walked from 9am to 3pm. I sat down for 12 mins to eat a salad and a smoked salmon spring roll. The sun was out but unfortunatly so was the wind. I have been wearing sun block on my face but I am still getting a sun glass tan. I think that it is wind burn though.

Anyhow I left the hotel and walked about and hour and a half to the Hydostone market. This area was completely rebuild post Halifax explosion with unique cement blocks known as hydrostone. The reason I went was to see the market. Well kind of false advertising as the market is a cafe, a yarn shop and 2 gift shops. Not really worth the walk. I was to anoyed to even take a photo.

I than walked an hour to the Quinpool Market. Again a little bit of false advertising as this market is superstore and a small strip mall. Well I walked around in superstore and ate lunch.

I then walked about 15 mins to the public gardens. They were so beautiful. This is the first real spring flowers and blossoms that I have seen. We left Saskatoon just as it was all starting. I heard that it has since been frosty so maybe spring will wait for us.

I then walked to Spring st and hit up the 2 malls on the street. I finally made my first purchase a t-shirt.

I then walked an hour down Young st. the Point Pleasant park. This street is amazing. It kind of reminded me of walking around in Brenda's neighbourhood when she living in Pasadena. The houses are huge and so beautiful.

Point Pleasant park is really nice. It is massive and provides panoramic views of the harbour. I walked around in the park for about an hour before heading back to the hotel which was an hours walk. I hit up the hot tub for 15 mins and then met Brett in the room.

After the get together the night before his group wasn't really into going out. Brett and I grabbed some apps at 2 different pubs and then were back in our room by 8pm. Brett was doozing by 8:30 and I spent the evening
005005005

Brett and a Nova Scotian in his course enjoying their pint.
reading about PEI to try and plan our next travels.

I am now off to the gym and then the the second cut that I found yesterday with internet access. I will plan our trip and enjoy the sunshine today.
Ange


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

007007
007

Out with the group at the Shoe Factory.
009009
009

Why do groups think that shooters are a good idea?
010010
010

The Public gardens.
025025
025

Walking on Young st on my way to Point Pleasand Park.
026026
026

View of the shipping docks.
030030
030

St. Mary's Basilica across from the old Burying grounds.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb