Digby Neck, Brier Island, Long Island, Cape Forchu Lighthouse, Peggy's Cove and Polly's Cove, Nova Scotia


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Digby
June 29th 2017
Published: June 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Spent seven days in Nova Scotia travelling down Digby Neck to Brier Island, finally making my way to Halifax via the South Shore. I wanted to do some coastal hiking and beachcombing through the area. Being from New Brunswick I took the ferry across the Bay of Fundy from Saint John, New Brunswick to Digby, Nova Scotia. My first stop was Prim Point lighthouse just outside Digby. I timed it right as I saw the ferry make its return trip to Saint John. A short trail to the lighthouse where I scrambled over the basalt rocks. Following this I visited Gullivers Cove where I found another hiking stick and did a short trail to High Cliff Cove. The next day I drove down Digby Neck, took the ferry to Long Island, then drove Long Island to the ferry to Brier Island. Unfortunately, it was raining so not much hiking on my way. At Brier Island I visited Slocum's monument - Joshua Slocum being the first person to sail around the world solo. The following day I hiked to Seal Cove to see the seals. I did see one frolicking on the rocks. After visiting The Western Light lighthouse I started to hike the Brier Island Nature Preserve. Unbeknownst to me, it was the nesting season for the seagulls explaining their aggressive nature. I turned around and attemted the trail from the other end starting at Pond Cove. A nice coastal hike along the water. The following day, on my way back to the mainland, I hiked the Balancing Rock trail on Long Island (near Tiverton). After a 20 minute hike one way one comes upon a huge basalt rock, somehow balancing on its end defying gravity. Since I was driving by Sandy Cove Beach I did my mandatory beachcombing claiming some rocks for some future rock painting with the grandkids. Next stop Cape Forchu Lighthouse outside Yarmouth and the short Leif Ericson hiking trail just below the lighthouse. In the Liverpool area I hiked the well-maintained trails at Pine Grove Park in Milton; about two kilometers from Liverpool. The final day I headed toward Halifax. I stopped at Peggy's Cove. Although I have been there many times it is always worthy of a quick stop. This time, however, I learned of a hiking trail two kilometers down the road - Polly's Cove trail. A fun trail to the ocean where you can scamble around the rocks and see a different perspective other than that of Peggy's Cove. And no crowds! While in Halifax, I hiked the perimeter of Point Pleasant Park (about 4 Km) and the following day completed two hikes at Long Island Provincial Park. One was quite a rugged trail but one was rewarded by seeing a cute waterfall along the trail.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Basalt rocksBasalt rocks
Basalt rocks

of Seal Cove
Basalt RocksBasalt Rocks
Basalt Rocks

of Seal Cove
Balancing Rock Balancing Rock
Balancing Rock

near Tiverton, Long Island


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb