More Moose!


Advertisement
Published: October 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


How did it get to be October?!

It was a good night and I woke rested and eager for the day, the sun was coming out. I showered, walked the dog, disposed of garbage, etc. Left at 9:15 am.

Off we went to Corby’s to get propane. It is the only place to get propane on this side of the park so I was really lucky it ran out yesterday. I filled up on gas too and the bill was $119.67. Stuff is REALLY expensive here.

Headed north toward Meat Cove. It is the farthest point north and east in Nova Scotia and they had camping on a first come first served basis. It is 45 min on a dirt road so it was definitely an adventure. They didn‘t tell me the road was a mess. It was so filled with pot holes and wash boarded that I couldn’t go more than 15 mph. It was a real strain on me getting there, not wreaking the van. We took it slow and only hit a couple of jaw rattlers. Once there we were the only people on the earth. The spot was beautiful but deserted and the weather was turning ugly. I parked Pennelope putting a rock behind the tire and went for an exploring walk. Oscar was thrilled to get out of the box. One bump we went over had him airborne. Poor guy was trying to take a nap on the bed and he just flew in the air. From then on he went in his co-pilot seat.

We walked down to the beach and explored there and found stone towers someone had built. I decided this was a perfect place to find stones for myself. When the waves roll out they make a rattling noise caused by the rocks going in and out with the wave. Soothing sound.

I decided with the weather turning I didn’t want to spend the night here all by myself. I couldn’t even star gaze with all the clouds. So after 1 ½ hours we headed back down the obstacle course.

We stopped at Bay St Lawrence, a little fishing village with nothing going on and headed back to the Cabot Trail.

We went up one mountain and down another and finally came to a place to view the Gulf of St Lawrence. With all the clouds, it wasn’t much of a view.

We stopped for a bog walk, and enjoyed getting out and seeing the terrain at 355 meters. I can’t find a feet elevation so you’ll have to convert. Maybe 1300 ft. pictures The signs there said we should see a moose in this terrain but I really didn’t want to see one without a big vehicle around me.

Well didn’t I get my wish! Just down the road there were 2 moose just off the road. It was a bull and cow with other things on their minds than some crazy lady in her white bus. Like yesterday I was careful first, then get the picture and look. The lighting was terrible, fog rolling in so it was a real challenge. I did badly with the pictures but got to watch them for 5 min or more. Anytime I encounter wildlife in their natural habitat I feel honored and extremely lucky so just seeing them was an unexpected treat. She was grazing, he was licking his lips following her wherever she went. Tis the season. I included the bad pictures just so you can see how close they were and how bad the lighting was. Makes me really appreciate the pictures yesterday.

I followed the Cabot Trail down the mountain to Cheticamp where we will spend the night. The campground has electric ,30 amp, so all systems run but not internet. I have to see if I can get that somewhere.



Oscar and I went for a walk after his dinner around the campground and there was a trail that he really wanted to take so off we went even though I was bone tired. He was a really good passenger today so a little reward was only fair. The trail lead to a dune that lead to the ocean! We’re on the ocean! Oscar had a ball running along smelling the seaweed and chasing the seagulls. Thank goodness he didn’t roll in the stuff. I found a few choice feathers and rocks and felt renewed being there.

Back in the camper I made myself a drink and started the blog and downloaded pictures. I have music playing and after a time everything has worked it’s magic. There is no hope ------.

It’s now 7:30 and I better get dinner and see if the internet works. Hope the sun shines tomorrow..


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

on the beachon the beach
on the beach

I see these stacked rocks everywhere. It started with the Inuit Indians using ice and rocks for directional markers
Scottish ShielingScottish Shieling
Scottish Shieling

These stone structures were erected to shelter the crofters who were serving the lord in caring for sheep in Scotland


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb