YELLOWKNIFE!!!


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Northwest TerritoriesNorthwest TerritoriesNorthwest Territories

crossing over the 60th parallel!
Up early this morning, to get ready for the last of the drive to Yellowknife!

After, a walk around Manning before getting back in the car around 9:30 am!

After getting gas, we set out for the drive, and before you know it, we were crossing into the Northwest Territories and the 60th parallel! And the bugs were there at the border to greet us!

Thank goodness, Mel told me to gas up everytime I saw a gas station and to watch out for bison the road! Where I stopped for lunch was the last gas station I saw until I reached Yellowknife (5 hours later). I did see 6 bison on the road, except they were on the side of the road, grazing and lots of dips. When I got to the ferry to cross over the McKenzie River, the bugs were so bad, I stayed in the car!

Got to Yellowknife around 7 and finally got cell reception, that I called Nigel to tell him where I was! I drove right past where I was suppose to turn, and found myself downtown Yellowknife. Nigel, came and got me and took me to their place, where
Northwest TerritoriesNorthwest TerritoriesNorthwest Territories

the ferry, crossing the McKenzie River
Bison burgers and hotdogs and their friend, Christine were waiting for a BBQ. (it was Christine's birthday!).

It feels so great to be here and spend some real quality time with Nigel and Mel.

Off to head into a local pub for a celebration drink with Nigel, Mel, and Christine!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

YellowknifeYellowknife
Yellowknife

Mel and Nigel!
Yellowknife!Yellowknife!
Yellowknife!

Chirstine
YellowknifeYellowknife
Yellowknife

Bison burgers (they are so small!)


20th August 2009

Yay!!!!!
I'm so happy you made it there safely. I wish I was there with you (altho' you can have the bugs and I'm not too sure about the bison burgers) Have a blast while you're with them. Keep us posted and I'll see you on Skype later tonight.
21st August 2009

Yahoo
You did it girl! Yahoo. What a journey. Hope you and Otis are chillin' and not driving anywhere! Much love Nancy
21st August 2009

stayin' put for a while!
hey nancy, great to hear from you! planning on staying put for about a week, maybe more! off canoeing and camping and rock climbing this weekend! love, julia ox

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb