21 Days in Newfoundland - Day 19, 20, and 21 - Port au Port, the Gravels, Fossil Forest Footpath, Cape Ray Lighthouse, Grandbay West Trailway, Isle aux Morts, Harvey Trail, Boat Coat Trail, and Rose Blanche Lighthhouse - Last Post!


Advertisement
Published: September 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I left the Bay of Islands for the Port au Port peninsula on the west coast. First stop was a hike at the Gravels, the isthmus where the Port au Port peninsula begins.This is a lovely, well-maintained coastal trail of seven km in length. At a leisurely pace it took me about two hours, including my pictures and four launches of a "message in a bottle" at different parts of the trail. The views were of course coastal in nature with magnificent views of the bays and beaches and unique rock formations typical of Newfoundland's coasts. While in Stephenville I walked the short trail (15 minutes one way) that led you along a stream bed to a number of fossilized trees in the water. A trail to do if you have nothing else to do. Following this relatively quiet day, on my way to Port aux Basques I stopped at the Cape Ray Lighthouse where I beachcombed a while as there is beach access and I took a short hike along the coast for photographic purposes. Grand Bay West has a Grand Bay West beach trail which meanders around the peninsula. It's an easy hike along either a boardwalk or a well-groomed trail. I started at the First Grand Bay Beach with the turnaround at the Second Grand Bay Beach. These are both lovely sandy beaches although I suspect the water of the Atlantic a tad cold. My final day on the rock before my ferry consisted of a drive to the end of the highway at Rose Blanche Lighthouse. This is a magnificent granite lighthouse well worth the trip. Halfway to the lighthouse stands Isle aux Morts (Island of death); aptly names given the number of shipwrecks in the area. Here there are two trails - Harvey Trail and Boat Cove Trail, short hikes around the community. The former is coastal in nature and you get a good sense of the dangers associated with the sea. The latter is a non-descript trail, 15 minutes each way, thru the typical vegetation and rocks of the area. You don't see anything spectacular with only a freshwater pond in view. The last day was rather anti-climactic so I guess it's time to go home. The ferry to Sydney NS leaves 1145 AM tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb