Hiking Grand Manan Island, New Brunswick, Day 2 - Dark Harbour, Ross Island, Castalia Marsh, Stanley's Beach


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Grand Manan
August 10th 2015
Published: August 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Started the day by driving to Dark Harbour on the west coast of Grand Manan. Known for it's world's finest dulse (edible seaweed), a natural rock breakwater provides protection to the harbour. Since the tide was going out, I hiked along the shore to the breakwater where I could beachcomb to my hearts content. I added two more well-weathered hiking sticks to my collection. After about 90 minutes I drove to Ross Island. At low tide only, you can walk to it from Grand Manan and hike entirely around the island; a total distance of around 8 Km (almost 5 miles). The hike around follows various beaches and coves, interspersed with short inland jaunts where the beach was not hikeable. One had to be careful as the route markings were few and far between so vigilance was required. Half way around, I decided to return via the "throughfare"; a dirt road which cuts the island in half. Some friendly dulse farmers even drove me part of the way! An enjoyable hike, full of variety, and a little anxiety-inducing to the neophyte not familiar with tide times! Did not want to spend the night on the island so I was quite conservative in my timings. A quick visit to Castalia Marsh and Stanley's Beach concluded the day. Tomorrow I visit the most southern part of the island; Southwest Head, to hike along the cliffs and see the majestic views. Then I catch a ferry back to the mainland of New Brunswick.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



18th May 2018

Great photos! I hiked out last year to the old lighthouse ruins on Ross Island. Just a pile of wood now.
18th May 2018

Ross Island
Thanks. I hiked the island but never saw the lighthhouse. I heard it had been torn or blown down so did not bother to look.
18th May 2018

Well, as mentioned it is still there, but only in a pile of wood now. Ah, but I did find another great one elsewhere. I'm quite into ruins. Did you miss it? Dark Harbour has a great tall one in ruin way at the end. Great place! I think I'll be going back again soon.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb