June 18, 09


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

there's a tide?there's a tide?there's a tide?

a small fishing boat harbor in St. Martins, NB
Day 18, Thursday
Yesterday's favorable weather forecast held overnight so by 11 I was riding south toward Fundy National Park. I took the shore road #915 into Alma. It got cold along the water. I'm thinking that even in the dead of summer when that cold ocean water come in it must really cool things down in this area.
I stopped at a bake shop in Alma for a cookie before heading into the park. There is a booth where you pay your entry toll but there is also a lane that passes right on by. I saw lots of cars zooming right past but I did'nt know if they perhaps had a season pass or what the deal was. I got to the booth and asked if I paid an entry fee if I was just passing through. "No, just stay to the right at the top of the hill" was just the answer I was hoping for. I rode through the park which has no different scenery than the roads that got me here but the air quickly warmed as I left the shoreline.
A few miles down highway one and I exit at #111 West to St. Martins. There are some interesting caves warn into the rocks here. It was low tide so I could walk out to them just passing through a small stream. My Joe Rocket motorcycle boots really are waterproof, or at least water repellent enough for a few seconds in a stream. I fill up and head off.
For the return trip I decide to take the main highways to Moncton where I stop at DQ for a treat. I top up the tank again and head home. Seven hours in the saddle is a bit much even for a Mustang seat. 345Km under clear skies. This is why I'm on this trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

St. Martins cavernsSt. Martins caverns
St. Martins caverns

waves wear away the soft stone at high tide
seaweedseaweed
seaweed

obviously it survives through low tides
rocky beachrocky beach
rocky beach

this will all be under water at high tide


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb