Campobello Island, New Brunswick, Canada, Day 3 - Friar's Head Trail, Duck Islands, and Gibraltar Rocks


Advertisement
Published: September 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

On my final day at Campobello Island, I saw two very unique rock formations - "the Friar" and Gibraltar Rocks. Both are accessable via a trail, the first at Roosevelt Campobello International Park. To see the "Friar", one must go at low tide and do some scrambling over algae and or seaweed covered rocks. I accessed the rocky beach and slowly and cautiously approached "the Friar". During my hike I met two "winklers" picking up periwinkles (or winkles as they call them) which are often attached to the seaweed. They are sold at $1 a pound (to a local retailer) and sent to France and Japan where they are considered quite the delicacy. Gibraltar Rocks can be viewed along Gibraltar Rocks trail at Herring Cove Provincial Park. The trail is about 4 km long through a forested area and bog. This hike took me about 2 hours in total. Additionally, I hiked the easy, Duck Island View trail. Since it was still low tide I decided to get up close and personal with these islands and hiked the seabed for a closer look. In fact, I circumnavigated one of the islands entirely. It is amazing what one can see and do at low tide in the Bay of Fundy. For a few hours many things can be reached if one is willing to walk on the ocean floor. Just review local tide tables first and always plan accordingly. I tend to be very conservative as I do not plan to be caught anywhere I do not want to be with the incoming tide. The final part of my day was revisiting Pollock Cove for more sea glass! A relaxing way to end a long, tiring day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb