Time for an update


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Morden
September 10th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cause there’s no road that aint a hard road to travel on...




The first leg of the trip is complete! I spent two days on the TransCanada and I am now in sunny southern Manitoba. I am sitting at a picnic table in the baking hot sun beside my campervan (home), watching Moxie sleep in the shade and realized I should post an update.

The road-trip out here was, to use my most favorite word, fantastic. We had blue skies across three provinces and my van travelled so smoothly both Mox and I thoroughly enjoyed the drive. She fits so perfectly in there!! In Saskatchewan we pulled over to take pictures in a beautiful sunflower field and somewhere about an hour east of Regina, Moxie and I watched the stars come out, parked for the night to sleep, and the view of the galaxy was simply breathtaking. The next morning as we came into Manitoba, there was a small glider plane (I have no idea what it would be called) scooping around the fields and over the highway. At one point it flew directly over the van, for several kilometers and then swooped down so low over top of us that I actually ducked! He went soaring back up and around behind us before I even caught my breath. I wish I had had a chance to take a picture but it took me completely off-guard! It was really cool to see.

The weather here has been warm and humid almost every day, with the occasional spectacular morning lightening storm every couple of days. I haven’t had to use the furnace officially yet in the van, however it has been dipping pretty low overnight for the past few days. Lucky for me I have a 100 lb heated teddy bear to snuggle with! We have already settled into a very nice routine and have claimed our regular ‘comfy spots’ for cuddles at night before bed. Moxie’s two most favorite activities out here are: running full speed behind the quad (Ive clocked her out at 35 km/hr!!) and splashing around in the river digging up sticks. She spends most days alternating between the two and then she lazes in the shade for hours under her little tree. When we play down in the river together, she loves it when I splash her with water (with both hands!) and she jumps and splashes around trying to catch the water in her mouth. Its hilarious! I think its safe to say Moxie is enjoying the adventure so far…

One interesting development of the journey has been my strange luck in happening upon the most surprisingly appropriate songs for the situations and experiences I have had so far. I figure the best thing to do is build a Soundtrack to keep track of some of more memorable ones for later reference. Here it is so far:

Trip Soundtrack

Hard Road - Sam Roberts
Possibility - Sierra Noble
Ill Miss You - Frente
Hard Hearted - Amy Millan

Im currently trying to keep busy with a housecleaning business for the Pipeliners and construction crews living in the campgrounds nearby (friends I am staying with are helping with the connections). It’s a nice gig actually! I keep busy most mornings with cleaning, laundry, errands, etc. It pays pretty well and I can work any hours I please. I think I might stick with this income prospect as I move on to new locations, probably follow the pipeline jobs around the country and set up camp where I can be useful to the crews, and see where that takes me. Its working for now and Ive got some ideas for expansion so I guess that is a semblance of a plan for now! Lol. Im sure Ill stay here in Manitoba until at least the end of September, perhaps mid October, and then it’ll be inevitable to head back West for the winter. I honestly don’t love the idea of spending the dead of winter in Manitoba or Saskatchewan, and being out in my new van for the first time, Id like to be closer to home for the worst of it just in case. It would be nice to be home for Christmas for a visit too! I have a little niece/nephew (??) on the way in January too!! So excited 😊

Closing random thoughts: Weeds! LOVE IT. Watch it. Its awesome. And, Im allergic to wasps apparently 😞 Got the little bastard caught in my pant leg and it stung me on the foot. Happened over 10 days ago and Im still recovering! Massive swelling, welts/hives, bruising... awful! Saw a doctor for it last week though so now Ill be prepared if it happens again. We have quite an epidemic of wasps out here right now so Im being extra careful! I love you daddy! Have a great time in China!!! 😉

Pictures to follow soon, internet connection is not stable enough right now...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb