Preparations


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
July 29th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So much to do, so little time...



Wow, 20 days and counting. Where to begin! Considering I made this decision to leave over 3 weeks ago, I am only now really starting to see the final pieces fall into place to make this trip a reality. It seems like there will never be enough time to finish everything on the list, but at the same time every day that goes by seems to drag on endlessly, waiting for that final moment when I jump in the van and pull away from my home indefinitely. I know the time will fly between now and then, but Im happy to say at this point Im succeeding at staying focused and closing off as many loose ends as possible. Packing, budgeting, sorting supplies, saying goodbye's...

I finalized the deal on my new 'home on wheels' last night, and I couldnt be more excited about the purchase!! Its perfect for me! I bought a 1979 Ford Frontier 'Chateau Camper Van'. Its had only 2 owners, has 121,000 original km's and comes complete with a working fridge, stove, furnace and sink/portapotty. Its surprisingly easy to handle considering the size & shape of it.

Funny story... Our family has had a home on the same block in Mayland Heights (Calgary) for over 20 years. And for as long as we have lived here, there has been a funky cool camper-van parked 2 blocks away, in mint condition that never seems to have been used or even moved! Joking with my dad on the way home from shopping for vans we found online, I wondered out loud if the old gentleman who owned the van on our block would ever sell the thing. It was a complete pipe dream! Not only was the van in pristine condition, it was just too perfectly suited for what I needed to be a possibility (let alone anywhere in my price range). However, I just couldnt seem to let it go so I walked down the block later that evening and knocked on their door. Long story short, it turns out this sweet old man had just lost his son to a heart attack 4 months earlier and was, for the first time in 23 years, considering selling his van. He seemed shocked that I showed up to his door, uninvited and with no knowledge of his situation, and just a day after he and his wife had discussed finally putting the 'old beast' up for sale. He was adamant that the van could not be purchased by 'just anybody' and it was a huge decision for him to even consider letting it out of his capable hands. I spent almost 2 hours with him that night, telling him the story of my upcoming adventure and listening to his tales of how the van had treated him over the past 2 decades.

Within two days, I recieved a call to tell me that he was convinced I was supposed to buy his van. He fell in love with my story and felt a sence of responsibility to make sure I was well taken care of on my trip, and therefore it must be so. I was elated! I plan on sending him many postcards and little random gifts in the mail as we travel the country, to keep him updated and try in some way to show my immense gratitude for the gift of peace of mind he has given me (and my poor dad!). Oh! And on the spooky side? His daughter's name is Brooklyn Nicole and his wife's name is Kathleen (my middle name). Hmmm?!

And so, now I am in the final stages of preparation with just less than 20 days left until I leave. I suppose I should mention the personal significance of my departure date. My 29th birthday falls on August 19 this year. I thought it would be rather symbolic to wake up on the morning of my 29th birthday and see that big 30 on the horizon, along with the visual image of the Transcanada Highway stretching out forever in front of me. It remains to be seen whether I can get my sh*t together in time to meet that goal, but Im gonna try my best 😉 Wish me luck!



Advertisement



30th July 2009

/*google*/

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb