While in Whistler....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
January 9th 2011
Published: January 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

While in Whistler...



Whistler is a fun little place. It's pretty, has the best mountains, but it's expensive and can be pretentious. As I've learned more about peoples travel preferences, I've come to realise that I just love holidays. Relaxing, girly, outdoorsy (to an extent... due to my level of fitness and fear I have a limit, but am willing to go a certain degree from my comfort zone), romantic, city, beach, resort, music festival, snowy, adventure and may even be looking at a cruise in the not too distant future. I just love to experience new places and am not too fussy on what that means. So long story short, I adapt to my surroundings and therefore while in whistler do as the rich do. In less than a month I was lucky to get up there for 3 different trips.

trip 1 - back to snow



2009/2010 was a bad season for me personally, and my skiing was poor, so I was nervous about the return. We skiied solid for 2 days and stayed in the Hilton. The Hilton was pleasant, but I wasn't blown away. I liked the little outdoor poor and hot tub, but the room was mediocre. Location was good, centre village and steps from the Gondola.
The skiing was fun and tiring, and I felt I was back into it. Good start...

take 2 - luxury



We learned from the previous to trip to just ski on the Sunday and treated this as a romantic night away. I'm lucky enough to work in travel so got a great little deal on the Fairmont and was I glad to stay there. The Fairmont is the perfect ski stay and the hot tubs are plentiful. The staff were a little snooty (apart from the lovely receptionist, and one of the sales staff we met on the mountain). We didn't indulge in the fondu, but I've heard it's delish. We skiied Blackcomb when we were there. If you were wondering what mountain to ski on, I would def recommend Blackcomb above Whistler, unless your a total beginner. Popped into the Crystal Cabin for their famous waffles and even though the place was total chaos, the waffles were just what the doctor ordered after a morning on the slopes. I can't wait to get back to the Fairmont.

Friends, hot tubs and snow

men

Our last trip of the month was during the holidays with a bunch of friends. We had a 4 bed cabin in Creekside, which was fun fun fun. Skiing, snow beast, hot tub, beer, charades and plenty of laughs.

Now it's January, and time to gather the pennies again (even if i couldn't resist a seat sale last week) If your coming to Vancouver and want to snow and everything else that comes with a great ski resort, go to Whistler...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb