Another Whistler Blog


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
March 19th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

VancouverVancouverVancouver

This was my first day in Vancouver
Hello again, thought I'd add one more entry while I'm in Whistler, just a few words on the other things I've done besides snowboarding and some of the people I've met while I've been here.

The first week I spent with one guy from Japan, one from Los Angeles, two from London and one from Melbourne. All great guys who appreciate a few beers after a day in the powder, so as you can guess we all got along quite well. One of the guys showed me a lot on the mountain and we had some great days together.

The second week two guys from Sweden moved in. I got along with them the best, really my type of people, I boarded with them every day for the last 4 or 5 days and have promised to come to Sweden one day.

The lodge I've been staying in has been great, there's a diner downstairs where they sell cheap meals, really big servings. Most days here I've woken up to it snowing, usually it's somewhere around +1 Celsius outside and -5C on top of the mountain. I've spent most nights hanging out in the diner,or a pub with
Southside LodgeSouthside LodgeSouthside Lodge

The view from my window next to my bed at Southside Lodge, Whistler Creekside.
roommates, playing poker or just recovering in our room.

The weather here is really strange and variable. The other day when I woke up 20cm of snow had fallen on my balcony, yet at the top of the mountain it only rained all night, it was snowing outside my room when i left and raining when i got up the top, snowing when i got back down to the bottom! The snow base here is 320cm, I've had about 60cm of snow each week I've been here which apparently is very good even for Whistler.

Today I spent my last day going for a walk through the forests and train track to check out the wildlife, sprisingly there isn't much around, saw a woodpecker which was great but I think other animals are hibernating or are furthewr north. Still, I saw some beautiful scenery, waterfalls, rivers, frozen lakes, pine trees and birds.

Well I guess that's about it, I'll update next when I can, don't forget to check out the pictures I've posted, I think you just click on the "photos" link at the top somewhere, byeeeeeeeeeeeee.....




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Ice SculptureIce Sculpture
Ice Sculpture

Ice sculpture near the peak


Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb