So you think you've seen snow


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
December 21st 2006
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

Me with Whistler peak in the background
Well my loyal followers, my biggest apologise for not gettin these shots up earlier but Whistler is an expensive place and my time is a little limited. Most of my spare time is taken up with snow boarding, sleeping or going to the local bars with my new crew of mates. There a little bit crazy but i fit right in and they are more than accepting of my bizarre way of life. I live in Staff housing which is a bit like halls or residence and i share my flat with two girls, Vanessa from Vancouver and Angela from Brisbane its not too bad at all and i get on with them great. It wouldn't matter if i didnt though cause Whistler is the most amazing touristy place i've ever been. Theres a surprisingly strong community feel about the place and i get trreated like a local as i work here. I work 1800m up Blackcomb mountain and the view on a clear day is awesome. I have to get 2 chairlifts to work and when its windy and snowy its the best natural wakener upper in the world. It started snowing the first week of November and so far
Me on blckcomb - self shotMe on blckcomb - self shotMe on blckcomb - self shot

check out the flags on my board i carried them from home
there's been 19fts worth. Last thursday there was the biggest dump of snow ive ever seen and about 60cm fell. The next day i wasnt working so i went boarding and was up to my thighs in light fluffy powder. At one point i backflipped into it and didnt feel a thing - truly out of this world. The mountains are huge and even though ive fitted in about 20days so far of boarding i still have not seen half of them, plenty of time for that though. I also saw my first bear two days ago very close to the bus stop that get the bus to housing from the village. it was going into someones porch. I was so amazed and my mate Michelle thought i was going to hyperventilate it was great. I also saw a coyote/wolf on route to work one day. Anyways enjoy the photos my friend Laura from Edinburgh arrived on Saturday so we've been catching up and its great to have a friendly face here for xmas. Hope you all ejoy the festivities,I miss you all tonnes and will miss alll the great things we usually enjoy together at this time of year,
Sunrise fo RendezvousSunrise fo RendezvousSunrise fo Rendezvous

Rendezvous is my place of work - how unfortunate am I???
dont fret i'll be thinking of you and snowboarding my time away, lots of love, Julie XXX


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Looking towards 7th heaven - blackcombLooking towards 7th heaven - blackcomb
Looking towards 7th heaven - blackcomb

Taken from the Whisky Jack run whistler
Me and MichelleMe and Michelle
Me and Michelle

This is how big i smile every time it snows
Me and LauraMe and Laura
Me and Laura

Feeding the snow man irnbru in Whistler village on route to a beach party
Staff housing BlackcombStaff housing Blackcomb
Staff housing Blackcomb

This is where i live - the snows twice as big now BTW
Burning ULLR the god of snowBurning ULLR the god of snow
Burning ULLR the god of snow

our equivalent of guy fawkes we burned the nordic god of snow as good luck for the season and have ended up with a monster start
Staff housing BlackcombStaff housing Blackcomb
Staff housing Blackcomb

This is where i live - the snows twice as big now BTW
The gondola ambulanceThe gondola ambulance
The gondola ambulance

This is how they're gonna take me off the hill if i break my leg???
Rendezvous 1800mRendezvous 1800m
Rendezvous 1800m

What a setting for a restaurant and even better for one i work in!
Garibaldi national park from whistler mtGaribaldi national park from whistler mt
Garibaldi national park from whistler mt

The entrance to the harmony bowl
My horror of a namebadgeMy horror of a namebadge
My horror of a namebadge

dinna worry im getttin it fixed asap


27th December 2006

Nice name badge
Love the photos-it all looks amazing! That must be one of the best job locations in the world! By the way-I would feel mightily privileged to be wearing a name badge like that. Did they really think you were from England? Just like so many foreigners who think that England and Scotland are the same thing, or England and London? Speak soon, merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Miriam xx

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb